This classic introduction to the study of history ... revised and updated with key new material including: - a brand new chapter on public history - sections on digitised sources and historical controversy - discussion of topics including transnational history and the nature of the archive - an expanded range of examples and case studies - a comprehensive companion website providing valuable supporting material, study questions and a bank of primary sources.
This primer is a guide to doing research in order to write a research paper, create a website, or do a PowerPoint presentation. It talks about how to do research on the Internet and how to differentiate between reliable and unreliable historical information on the Web.
Practical guide to historical research and writing for all students of history. Focuses on the basics of historians' craft, introducing students to concepts including refining a topic, selecting sources, and engaging critically with their reading. Appendices illustrate style for footnotes, end notes, and bibliographical entries, as well as a list of commonly used abbreviations.
"Explores the full range of ways in which GIS can be used to study the past, considering key questions such as what types of new knowledge can be developed solely as a consequence of using GIS and how effective GIS can be for different types of research. Global in scope and covering a broad range of subjects, the chapters in this volume discuss ways of turning sources into a GIS database, methods of analysing these databases, methods of visualising the results of the analyses, and approaches to interpreting analyses and visualisations."
Publication Date: New York : Routledge, 2016 [2012 edition is ebook]
This book is "an introduction to the rich treasury of source material available to students of early modern history. During this period, political development, economic and social change, rising literacy levels, and the success of the printing press, ensured that the State, the Church and the people generated texts and objects on an unprecedented scale. This book introduces students to the sources that survived to become indispensable primary material studied by historians...[such as] governmental, ecclesiastical and legal records, diaries and literary works, print, and visual and material sources." Also includes chapters on documents related to themes such as religion, science, and politics.
Useful 2 volume guide to selected historical literature published up to the early 1990s. "Hundreds of historians from around the world have selected and provided commentary on the best and most useful works in their fields...from prehistory to the twentieth century. " (Also availblle in print: http://library.ohio-state.edu/record=b4187132~S7)
"The handbook is a reference work which enables the readers to quickly and purposely gain insight into the important research discussions and to inform themselves about the current status of research in the field... The result is a reference work which exhaustively documents the current status of research in medieval studies and brings the disciplines and experts of the field together."
"Medieval society created many kinds of records and written material which differ considerably, giving us such sources as last wills, sermons, manorial accounts, or royal biographies...Understanding Medieval Primary Sources is a collection of essays that will introduce students to the key primary sources that are essential to studying medieval Europe" including "wills, letters, royal and secular narratives and sermons. "
"A Research Guide to the Ancient World: Print and Electronic Sources, is a partially annotated bibliography. The study of the ancient world is usually, although not exclusively, considered a branch of the humanities, including archaeology, art history, languages, literature, philosophy, and related cultural disciplines which consider the ancient cultures of the Mediterranean world, and adjacent Egypt and southwestern Asia. Chronologically the ancient world would extend from the beginning of the Bronze Age of ancient Greece (ca. 1000 BCE) to the fall of the Western Roman Empire (ca. 500 CE). This book will close the traditional subject gap between the humanities (Classical World; Egyptology) and the social sciences (anthropological archaeology; Near East) in the study of the ancient world."
"Jenkins offers a newly revised and expanded annotated bibliography of book-length reference works, covering the rise and fall of the Greek and Roman civilizations from the Bronze Age through the 6th century AD. While preference has been given to English-language works, many important titles in French, German, Italian, and Spanish have also been included. There is also increased coverage of ancient philosophy, religion (including early Christianity), and art and archaeology. Late Antiquity, a major growth area in classical studies, has also received more attention. Core resource for reference librarians, students, and classical scholars working outside their immediate areas of specialization."