African American Communities
“Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. Also featured is a rich selection of visual material, including photographs, maps and ephemera.”
American Civil Liberties Union Papers 1912-1995
"consists of two major collections comprising myriad subseries. The Roger Baldwin Years, 1912-1950, contains subseries with clippings and files on academic freedom; censorship; legislation; federal departments and federal legislation; state activities; conscientious objectors; injunctions; and labor and labor organization correspondence. Years of Expansion, 1950-1990, encompasses foundation project files on the Amnesty Project, 1964-1980; the Lawyers Constitutional Defense Committee, 1964-1976; and subject files on freedom of belief, expression, and association; due process of law; equality before the law; international civil liberties; and legal case files, 1933-1990.”
American History 1493-1945
Collection of “documents in American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American History.”
Module I Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859
Module II Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945
Race Relations in America 1943-1970
This resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute at Fisk University. Some of its participants were Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.”
Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War
“Over 1,500 periodicals written and illustrated by serving members of the armed forces and associated welfare organisations published between 1914 and the end of 1919 are included. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover, in full colour or greyscale.”
Selected Guide to Oral Histories at OSU and the Web
Find Oral Histories or Interviews using OSU Libraries Resources
Find text and video of oral histories by using the advanced menu search
-Change the first pull down menu to subject and use the word interviews
-On another search line include relevant key word
-Restrict to videos by using the Location menu and select Web E-Video
A different search strategy would be to deploy a keyword search to combine a relevant keyword with “oral history”
“civil rights” and “oral history” Note: May find oral histories and works that used oral history as a resource
Selected Databases with Video and/or Text Available from OSU Libraries
Ohio State University Archives Oral Histories
“The OSU Oral History Program documents the history of The Ohio State University by interviewing faculty members and administrators, as well as former students.”
United States Senate Historical Office Oral History Collection. JK1161 .U65 MICROFICHE 2nd Floor Thompson Library Microform division.
Black Studies in Video Use Advanced Menu; enter keywords/names; scroll down to Content Type and limit only to interviews
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 Use the Search tab and limit to interviews or oral history using the Document Type limiter
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories Find video interviews by selecting the Browse tab and then select Showcase. Scroll down to Ellis Island Oral History Project. Also use the Search tab and select Advanced Search. Limit to oral history using Document Type
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 Limit to interviews and oral histories by selecting the Search tab and then limiting the Document Type
Selected Resources with Text and/or Audio and Video Freely Available on the Web
Ellis Island Oral Histories Requires free registration. Includes about 1893 interviews “dedicated to preserving the first-hand recollections of immigrants who passed through the Ellis Island immigration station between 1892 and 1954 and the employees who worked there.” NOTE: This resource appears to be searchable only by names of immigrants.
Kent State Shootings: Oral Histories “The Kent State Shootings Oral Histories project collects and provides access to personal accounts of the May 4, 1970, shootings and their aftermath.” There are 123 oral history accounts. On May 4, 1970 13 students were shot by members of the Ohio National Guard at a student demonstration. “The protests at Kent State were part of a widespread spontaneous reaction to the announcement by President Richard M. Nixon of the U.S. incursion into Cambodia [during the Vietnam War,] which had begun only days earlier.”
Columbus Jewish Historical Society Oral Histories Offers transcripts of oral history interviews of persons from the Columbus Jewish community reflecting on their lives and mainly local Jewish events and institutions from the past up to today.
Veterans History Project
The "(VHP) of the Library of Congress American Folklife Center is primarily an oral history program that collects and preserves the firsthand interviews of America's wartime veterans... In addition to audio- and video-recorded interviews, VHP accepts memoirs and collections of original photographs, letters, diaries, maps and other historical documents from World War I through current conflicts."
Additional Resources for Locating Oral Histories
Columbia Center for Oral History. New York: Columbia University. [CATALOG TO COLLECTION ONLY] Includes “over 10,000 interviews, the CCOH Archives is one of the largest oral history collections in the United States.”
Selected Oral History Projects. UCLA Libraries Links to oral history projects in the United States
Selected General Resources on Conducting Oral Histories
NOTE: OSU Libraries has many books on the subject of oral history. For books that focus on methods of conducting oral histories see Oral history -- Methodology
Conducting Oral Histories. UCLA Libraries Web site with Information about preparing for and conducting an oral history interview
Catching Stories: A Practical Guide to Oral History. [EBook] Donna DeBlasio, Swallow Press, c2009.
Doing Oral History: A Practical Guide. [Print book] Donald Richie, Oxford University Press, 2003.
Contains searchable manuscripts from early US presidents (also available in American Founding Era above) and also Gallatin, Albert; Knox, Henry; McHenry, James; Adams, Louisa Catherine Johnson; Randolph, Edmund; Heath, William; Coxe, Tench; Pickering, Timothy; Lee, Arthur; Lear, Tobias; Lafayette, Marie-Joseph-Paul-Yves-Roch-Gilbert du Motier, marquis de; Jay, John; Claiborne, William C. C.; Short, William; American Commissioners; Williams, Jonathan, Jr.; Dearborn, Henry; Adams, Thomas Boylston; Humphreys, David; Lincoln, Benjamin; Greene, Nathanael; Smith, William Stephens; Smith, Robert; Morris, Robert; Jefferson, George; Wolcott, Oliver, Jr.; King, Rufus; Livingston, Robert R.; Treasury Department; Lee, William; Bourne, Sylvanus; Peyton, Bernard; Huntington, Samuel; Dumas, Charles-Guillaume-Frédéric; Schuyler, Philip; Dumas, Charles William Frederic; Sullivan, John; Morris, Gouverneur; Jarvis, William; Rush, Benjamin
Legacy of Slavery in Maryland
Documents, records, and case studies.
Papers of Alexander Hamilton (Library of Congress) "consist of his personal and public correspondence, drafts of his writings (although not his Federalist essays), and correspondence among members of the Hamilton and Schuyler families. The collection, consisting of approximately 12,000 items dating from 1708 to 1917, documents Hamilton's impoverished Caribbean boyhood (scantily); events in the lives of his family and that of his wife, Elizabeth Schuyler Hamilton; his experience as a Revolutionary War officer and aide-de-camp to General George Washington; his terms as a New York delegate to the Continental Congress (1782-1783) and the Constitutional Convention (1787); and his careers as a New York state legislator, United States treasury secretary (1789-1795), political writer, and lawyer in private practice. Most of the papers date from 1777 until Hamilton's death in 1804."
Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals
These generals’ reports of service represent an attempt by the Adjutant General’s Office (AGO) to obtain more complete records of the service of the various Union generals serving in the Civil Wa
Civil War in Words and Deeds
Individually and collectively, the publication of these regimental histories and personal narratives constitute a source of great historical value. These first-person accounts, compiled in the postwar period and early 20th Century period, chronicle the highs and lows of army life from 1861 through 1865.
ProQuest Legislative Insight
ProQuest Legislative Insight is a federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full text Congressional publications relevant to enacted U.S. public laws from 1789-present. Provides compiled histories of laws enacted from 1789 to the present, including the following document types: bills, reports, documents, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, Congressional Record sections, presidential signing statements, and statutes. Legislative Insight includes only documents related to the passage of a law. For hearings, reports, bills, etc., that are not part of a legislative history, please use Proquest Congressional.
Selected Guide to General Diplomatic Document Collections
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS): 1861-1960
Online, fulltext searchable; For paper editions 1861- [title varies]: JX233 .A3 in Thompson Library [2nd floor mezzanine]. FRUS is the US Dept. of State's official collection of foreign relations documents that are publicly available.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS): selected pre1945, 1945--
Online full text searchable; Print available at JX233A3 in Thompson Library [2nd floor mezzanine]. FRUS is the US Dept. of State's official collection of foreign relations documents that are publicly available.
US State Department Bulletin 1933-1989
Includes the complete test of each issue. Collects public documents produced by the Dept. of State such as press releases, speeches, and articles. Print copy in the Depository JX232 .A26
US State Department Dispatch 1990-1999
A similar publication to the bulletin but contains less content. Print copy in the Depository JX232 .A26
The Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training
Interviews mostly with Foreign Service Officers but there also are some with political appointees and other officials. While some 1920s-, 1930s-, and World-War-II-era diplomacy is covered, most of the interviews involve post-World-War-II diplomacy, from the late 1940s to the 1990s. Search by keyword or browse by author or subject.
U.S. Department of State web site
Source of contemporary documents, speeches and press releases on foreign policy
American Foreign Relations: Current Documents 1950-1990
ONLINE: Available in print: JX1417 .A33: 1956-1967 at Law; Depository; 1981-1990 in Depository; JX1417 .A55: 1950-1955 in Depository
Frontline Diplomacy: The Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training
"Interview transcripts (at the Library of Congress) from the oral history archives of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training (ADST). These transcripts present a window into the lives of U.S. diplomats and the major diplomatic crisis and issues that the United States faced during the second half of the 20th century and the early part of the 21st."
The Papers of Andrew Jackson Digital Edition
Black Abolitionist Papers
Details "the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the massive, international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves...[Includes] correspondence of major African American leaders; speeches, sermons, and lectures; articles, essays, editorials, and other major writings from more than 200 newspapers: African American, abolitionist, and reform newspapers; and receipts, poems, and other miscellaneous documents.
See also links to presidential speeches under the Presidential Documents tab above.
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820
"Explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian."
Everyday Life & Women in America: c.1800-1920
Provides "access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes."