Research Guides: Korean Studies Resources: Language Study & Linguistics

Korean Linguistics and Korean Literature in English

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography
Index to journals, books, dictionaries, dissertations, and conference papers on literature, languages, folklore and linguistics. Includes critical writings on literature and human languages, including both natural languages and invented languages, e.g., Esperanto. Citations in a non-Roman alphabet are translated into the Roman alphabet.

Journals in Korean - Full Text Databases

DBpia
Full text database including over 570 Korean scholarly journals. The journal titles are arranged by 11 subject categories such as economics, engineering, education, medicine, etc. and all journals are available from the first issue

KRpia 한국의 지식 콘텐츠
KRpia is a large Korean language ebook database including many reference works like encyclopaedias, dictionaries, historical and archival resources, biographical sources and other reference materials related to Korean history, literature, civilization and medicine.
Korean History & Culture Research Database 한국역사문화조사 데이타베이스
Korean History & Culture Research Database is a database of excavation reports since 1940's and provides full-text articles in archaeology, history, anthropology, and folklore in 4,000 volumes from 99 organizations.
New Nonmun 학지사 뉴논문
Full-text database of academic journals published in South Korea on various subjects (especially social sciences, education, and psychology).
e-Article 학술교육원
e-Article contains full text of over 700 Korean scholarly journals. e-Article contains full text of over 700 Korean scholarly journals. e-article provides services of article searches and downloading the original over all publications from the first to the most recent issues, such as academic papers, proceedings and other symposium materials, separate volumes, and so forth in all areas of studies covering humanities, social studies, natural sciences, engineering, medical science, arts, physical science and so forth.
Korea A2Z 한국학 데이터베이스 (동방미디어)
Korea A2Z is a full-text collection of primary sources and classics organized by subject and format. Subjects covered include general reference, journalism, history, geography, law, religion, philosophy, traditional culture, natural science and ecology, and oriental medicine.

Korean Studies Information Service System (KISS: 한국학술정보)
KISS a full-text database including over one million articles from about 1,800 scholarly journals on linguistics, humanities, social science, natural science, engineering, agricultural science, marine science, and arts. It also contains 790 papers registered with the National Research Foundation of Korea

Resources for Learning Spoken Korean by The Ohio State University

National East Asian Languages Resource Center Pathway to Spoken Korean

This set of beginning-level materials developed by National East Asian Languages Resource Center at OSU is designed for students with no previous exposure to the Korean language. It introduces the true beginners to the Korean sound system, instructional expressions, performances of basic personal interactions, and Hangul - the Korean alphabet. Materials developed thus far include five units and more than forty lessons/stages in two formats: a print with a CD of audio program, and an online program.

Open Education Resources (OER) Textbooks

Korean Through Folktales by Portland State U
Korean Through Folktales consists of four chapters and each centers on a famous Korean folktale. The lessons and values that famous folktales teach are embedded and permeated in various aspects of the Koran culture. Using folktales in the curriculum will provide an engaging way to expose students to a slice of the target culture that native Koreans are naturally exposed to at an early age.

Romanization Standards

Korean Romanization Standards - McCune - Reischauer system

McCune-Reichauer based system is quite different from the South Korean rules, you are strongly encouraged to try the tutorial below.

McCune-Reichauer Romanization tutorial

The libraries follow the romanization standards used in the Library of Congress.

Library of Congress and American Library Association Romanization Table for Korean

South Korean Romaization Rules are different from those used in North American Libraries. 대한민국 국립국어원 표기법

Romanization of Korean by National Institute of Korean Language, Republic of Korea

Romanization Tool

Korean Name Romanizer
Windows-based tool provided by Princeton University Library that converts Korean names in Korean script into the roman alphabet according to ALA-LC rules. The tool is meant for romanizing personal names ONLY. It assumes that the given string is a personal name, and applies special rules accordingly.