Research Guides: GEOG 2750: --Latin America

Maps

Latin America

In the news

News Article

The Oaxaca Incident
A geographer’s efforts to map a Mexican village reveal the risks of military entanglement.

News Databases

Latin,American Post
English/Spanish online news from and about Latin America.

PressDisplay This link opens in a new window
Search newspapers from the following Latin American countries: Argentina, Chile, Columbia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Uruguay and Venezuela.
Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Latin American Newsstream enables users to search the most recent local, national, and regional news content with archives featuring newspapers, newswire, and news sites in active full-text format. It includes titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. Latin American Newsstream provides newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese. Key newspaper titles include: El Universal (Mexico City);O Globo (Brazil);La Nación (Argentina);and El Mercurio (Chile).

Local Columbus Events

Center for Latin American Studies
The mission of the Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) is to serve, facilitate, and stimulate the teaching, research, and intellectual interests of OSU faculty and students in all matters dealing with Latin America.
Festival Latino
Festival Latino is a free, family-friendly event and the largest Latin event in Ohio. This event takes place annually in August.

Resources on Latin America

Introduction: This guide will cover library, online and multimedia sources on Latin America in order to help you understand this complex region.

About Latin America, Iberia, Latino/a, Spanish & Portuguese Area Studies Collection at The Ohio State University:

The Latin America, Hispanic, Spanish, and Portuguese (LAT) collection at Ohio State University Libraries is the largest of its type in the state. The collection developed consequent to agricultural educational exchanges between OSU and Latin American institutions, fostered by the US Agency for International Development. Thereby the collection presents a core of imprints from the middle decades of the twentieth century focusing on agriculture, statistics, and underdeveloped countries. The US Defense Education Act fostered development of Brazilian Portuguese holdings. The Talfourd Linn Collection of historic translations of Don Quixote comprises a premier Hispanic literary resource with numerous editions available as full-text retrieval. The Mayan classic, Popul Wuj (Popol Vuh) is also digitally accessible. Further specialized holdings include archival material for early twentieth century Brazilian medical history. In general, the collection is a broad, working resource allowing ample study and research materials for the regions of: Mexico, parts of Central America and the Caribbean, Peru and Ecuador, Argentina, and Brazil. Resources for Latino studies are an increasing part of the collection due to the growth of Latin American immigration in the state.

Resources

Geography and Natural Environment:

Sources focused on climate, water resources and vegetation

Adaptation to Climate Change Through Water Resources Management
Chapter 2- Drought and water scarcity: Discourse and competing water demands in the context of climate change in arid Sonora, Mexico
Chapter 7- Water management institutionalization in the Argentinean Pampas: A shift from rain-fed to groundwater- irrigated agriculture in the context of climate change
Latin America, Second Edition
See chapter 2- The Environment
Latin America and the Caribbean
Chapter 1- Population and Land Use
Chapter 2 - Biodiversity
Chapter 7- Oceans and Coastal Areas

A Journey Through Latin American Maps from the Colombian Encounter to the Present
Find maps, articles, and bibliographies related to Latin American cartography
Cosmografías americanas
Ancient maps and information on the history of cartography in the Americas

This National Geographic documentary feature five stories that illustrate Latin America's regional natural resources.

People:

Sources focused on population (spatial) distribution, migration, and demographics

Latin America, Second Edition
See chapter 9- Migration, Population Change, and Race

Trends in Latin American Skilled Migration: “Brain Drain” or “Brain Exchange”? (journal article)
A 2001 article by Adela Pellegrino on contemporary Latin American migration to the industrialized world.
Globalization, Migration, and Latin American Ecosystems (journal article)
An article by T. Mitchell Aide and Richardo Grau on Latin American natural resources and migration.
International Migrant Populations by Country of Origin and Destination, mid-2015 Estimates
An interactive map developed by the Migration Policy Institute. See immigrant population distribution by country, country of origin, and more.
International Migration in the Americas 2015 Report
Migration Policy Institute
Around 28.5 Million Latin American and Caribbean People Live Outside their Native Countries (article)

A discussion with Mexico’s Ambassador to the United States, H.E. Eduardo Medina Mora, focused on the changing dynamics of immigration and their implications for both Mexico and the United States.

A panel discussion on the Regional Migration Study Group's final report, "Thinking Regionally to Compete Globally: Leveraging Migration & Human Capital in the U.S., Mexico, and Central America."

Development:

Sources focused on the economic sector, urbanization, and economic systems

Latin America, Second Edition
Chapter 14- Contemporary Cities and Urban Patterns
Chapter 16- "Latin American Development in Perspective

Economic and Social Panorama of the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States 2015

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Select by country (i.e Chile, Mexico, Argentina, Ecuador, Brazil, etc) and view detailed information including maps, images, political and economic overview.

Culture:

Sources focused on current and changing ideology, ethnicity, language, religion, and social class

Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion: Volume 2 – Latin America and the Caribbean
Latin America, Second Edition
See chapter 2 - Latin America as a Culture Region

"Indigenous Voices" exhibit at the 56th Venice Biennale
Listen to audio clips of different Latin American indigenous languages featured in the 56th Venice Biennale exhibit on "Indigenous Voices"

A short film by Whoo Kazoo on Día de los Muertos [Day of the Dead]

Geopolitics:

Sources focused on territorial divisions, cooperation (economic/security/military), and conflict

Opposing ViewPoints in Context
Latin America topics
Latin America: Trends and Forecast for 2017
An overview of geopolitics in Latin American by the think tank Katehon.
The dragon in the backyard; Latin American geopolitics
An article from "The Economist"
Food security and livestock: The case of Latin America and the Caribbean
The OAS Drug Report
Mexico Peace Index 2016
A report from the Institute for Economics & Peace

Area Studies Librarian

Pamela Espinosa de los Monteros

Email Me

Contact:

305H Thompson Library,
1858 Neil Ave, Columbus, OH 43210

614-688-1725

Subjects: International & Area Studies

Language

El Español
A BBC Production. Part of the series Sueños: World Spanish.

Music

Alma Llanera ("Soul of the Plains") is a Venezuelan song written by Venezuelan composer Pedro Elías Gutíerrez and lyrcists Rafael Bolivar Coronado. It is considered one of Latin American landmark song and performed by many Latin American musicians and singers. This interpretation follows the style of Andean music a traditional folklore popular in parts of Argentina, Bolivia, Ecuador, Chile, Columbia, Peru and Venezuela. Learn to play Andean music at OSU with the the OSU Andean Music Ensemble.

The Latin Beat
Explore the musical styles of each Latin American country including: ballads, bossa nova, Latin jazz, samba, salsa, mambo, rock and hip hop.