The Ohio State Universities | University Libraries | Resource Guides

Citation Help

Resources for citation style guides and citation software management

Turabian Style Research Guide

This guide is based on Kate L. Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers  7th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2007. Bibliography items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. Items are referred to in the body of the paper using the Footnote or In-Text style.

For other examples, please refer to A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers available in the reference collections of many OSU Libraries (Call number LB 2369 T8 2007).

Turabian Style Research Guide

Turabian Citation Style Guide - Articles

Bibliography items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. Items are referred to in the body of the paper using the Footnote or In-Text style.

Journal Article (Notes-Bibliography System)

Bibliography:

Davis, Philip. "The Effect of the Web on Undergraduate Citation Behavior: A 2000 Update." College & Research Libraries 63 (January 2002): 53-60.

Footnote:

Philip Davis, "The Effect of the Web on Undergraduate Citation Behavior: A 2000 Update," College & Research Libraries 63 (January 2002): 57.


Journal Article (Author-Date System)

Bibliography:

Davis, Philip. 2002. "The Effect of the Web on Undergraduate Citation Behavior: A 2000 Update." College & Research Libraries 63 (January): 53-60.

In-Text:         

(Davis 2002, 57)

Magazine Article (Notes-Bibliography System)

Bibliography:

Chelminski, Rudy. "Unearthing Athens' Underworld." Smithsonian, November 2002, 120-125.

Footnote:

Rudy Chelminski, "Unearthing Athens' Underworld," Smithsonian, November 2002, 122.


Magazine Article (Author-Date System)

Bibliography:

Chelminski, Rudy. 2002. "Unearthing Athens' Underworld." Smithsonian, November, 120-125.

In-Text:

(Chelminski 2002, 122)

 

Newspaper Article (Notes-Bibliography System)

Bibliography:

Broad, William. "For Parts, NASA Boldly Goes ... on eBay." New York Times, 19 July 2002, 24.

Footnote:

William Broad, "For Parts, NASA Boldly Goes ... on eBay," New York Times, 19 July 2002, 24.

Bibliography items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. Items are referred to in the body of the paper using the Footnote or In-Text style.

Book - One Author (Notes-Bibliography System)

Bibliography:

Wurman, Richard Saul. Information Anxiety 2. Indianapolis, IN: QUE, 2001.

Footnote:

Richard Saul Wurman, Information Anxiety 2 (Indianapolis, IN: QUE, 2001), 71.


Book - One Author (Author-Date System)

Bibliography:

Wurman, Richard Saul. 2001. Information Anxiety 2. Indianapolis, IN: QUE.

In-Text:

(Wurman 2001, 71)

 

Book - Two or Three Authors (Notes-Bibliography System)

Bibliography:

Strunk, William, and E. B. White. The Elements of Style. New York: Macmillan, 1972.

Footnote:

William Strunk and E. B. White, The Elements of Style (New York: Macmillan, 1972), 27.


Book - Two or Three Authors (Author-Date System)

Bibliography:

Strunk, William, and E. B. White. The Elements of Style. New York: Macmillan.

In-Text:

(Strunk and White 1972, 27)

 

Book - More than Three Authors (Notes-Bibliography System)

Bibliography:

Russon, Anne, Kim Bard, and Sue Taylor Parker, eds. Reaching Into Thought: The Minds of the Great Apes. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1996.

Footnote:

Anne Russon, Kim Bard, and Sue Taylor Parker, eds., Reaching Into Thought: The Minds of the Great Apes (New York: Cambridge University Press, 1996), 134.


Book - More than Three Authors (Author-Date System)

Bibliography:

Russon, Anne, Kim Bard, and Sue Taylor Parker, eds. 1996. Reaching Into Thought: The Minds of the Great Apes. New York: Cambridge University Press.

In-Text:

Russon, Bard, and Parker 1996, 134)

Bibliography items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. Items are referred to in the body of the paper using the Footnote or In-Text style.

Electronic Journal Article (Notes-Bibliography System)

Bibliography:

Frank, Alison. “The Petroleum War of 1910: Standard Oil, Austria, and the Limits of the Multinational Corporation.” American Historical Review 114, no.1 (Feb. 2009): 16-41. doi:10.1086/ahr.114.1.16.

Footnote:

Alison Frank, “The Petroleum War of 1910: Standard Oil, Austria, and the Limits of the Multinational Corporation,” American Historical Review 114, no.1 (Feb. 2009): 7. doi:10.1086/ahr.114.1.16.


Electronic Journal Article (Author-Date System)

Bibliography:

Thomas, Trevor M. 1956. "Wales: Land of Mines and Quarries." Geographical Review 46, no.1: (January), http://www.jstor.org/stable/211962.

In-Text:

(Thomas 1956)

 

Web Site (Notes-Bibliography System)

Bibliography:

American Kennel Club. "AKC Meet the Breeds: Borzoi." American Kennel Club, http://www.akc.org/breeds/borzoi/ (accessed September 22, 2010).

Footnote:

American Kennel Club, "AKC Meet the Breeds: Borzoi," American Kennel Club, http://www.akc.org/breeds/borzoi/ (accessed September 22, 2010).


Web Site (Author-Date System)

Bibliography:

American Kennel Club. "AKC Meet the Breeds: Borzoi." American Kennel Club, http://www.akc.org/breeds/borzoi/ (accessed September 22, 2010).

In-Text:

(American Kennel Club)

Bibliography items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. Items are referred to in the body of the paper using the Footnote or In-Text style.

Thesis or Dissertation (Notes-Bibliography System)

Bibliography:

Iyer, Naresh Sundaram. "A Family of Dominance Filters for Multiple Criteria Decision Making: Choosing the Right Filter for a Decision Situation" Ph.D.diss., Ohio State University, 2001.

Footnote:

Naresh Sundaram Iyer. "A Family of Dominance Filters for Multiple Criteria Decision Making: Choosing the Right Filter for a Decision Situation" (Ph.D.diss., Ohio State University, 2001), 52.


Thesis or Dissertation (Author-Date System)

Bibliography:

Iyer, Naresh Sundaram. 2001. "A Family of Dominance Filters for Multiple Criteria Decision Making: Choosing the Right Filter for a Decision Situation" Ph.D.diss., Ohio State University.

In-Text:

(Iyer 2001, 52)

Loading ...

Find a Copy