Research Guides: EDUTL 8334: Research Methods in Children and Young Adult Literature: Getting Started

Reviews & Booklists

ALA Award Winners The American Library Association offers book lists of award winners such as the Newbery, Caldecott, Arbuthnot Honor, Batchelder, Belpre, Carnegie, Giesel, Odessy, Siebert, and Wilder.
ALAN Review
ALSC Children's Notable Lists dentified by the The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), The American Library Association has complied lists of notable books, recordings, and videos for children organized by year.
Booklist
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books The source provides concise summaries and critical evaluations of current children's books.
The Horn Book Magazine The bimonthly journal of opinion, reporting, and timely reviews of children's literature.
Reading Rockets Reading Rockets offers book lists from The New York Times, the International Reading Association, and annual award winners.
School Library Journal (SLJ) The most complete provider of news, information and reviews for librarians and media specialists who serve children and young adults in school and public libraries.

Welcome!

Welcome to the guide for EDUTL 8334: Research Methods in Children and Young Adult Literature. On the homepage you will find general research databases, reference sources, search tips, citation help, and library information and news. If the OSU Libraries does not have a book or article you need, no problem! Click here to use Article Express to request an electronic scan of articles held in OSU Library collections and the collections of other libraries around the world. Click here to request books and other materials through Interlibrary Loan not available in either the OSU or OhioLINK catalogs.

There are several ways to locate the information you need:

Search the catalogs to find books, journals (but not articles within journals--use the databases to find articles), microforms, multimedia, and links to online sources (databases and online journals) owned or licensed by a library.

OSU Catalog - Search for books, e-books, and other materials owned by OSU Libraries, Columbus and regional campuses. Borrow Materials online.

OhioLINK Catalog - Combined catalog of a consortium of 88 Ohio university and college libraries, the State Library of Ohio, and more. Have materials delivered to OSU.

WorldCat Local@OSU - Searches materials at OSU, OhioLINK (the Ohio libraries shared catalog), and libraries worldwide.

Search the Research Databases list by title or subject to find journal articles, many of which may be available as full text.

Search the OSUL's Online Journals list by title or subject to locate a specific online journal title, browse a list of online journal titles, or identify online journal titles by subject.

Selected Research Databases

OSU subscribes to over 500 databases, all listed under Research Databases. These are search tools that can help you identify articles from many kinds of sources--historical, contemporary, popular, and scholarly.

Academic Search Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) This link opens in a new window The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature aims to list monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. The bibliography consists of 69 volumes beginning in 1920 and issued annually in printed volumes. Subject areas covered by ABELL include English Language - including syntax, phonology, lexicology, semantics, stylistics and dialectology English Literature - including poetry, prose, fiction, films, biography, travel writing, literary theory and studies of individual authors Bibliography - including manuscript studies, textual studies and the history of publishing. Traditional culture of the English-speaking world including custom, belief, narrative, song, dance and material culture.
Education Full Text (Wilson) This link opens in a new window Indexes 400 periodicals, yearbooks, and monographs in audiovisual education, classroom computers, comparative education, competency-based education, educational technology, government funding, language and linguistics, literacy standards, multi-cultural/ethnic education, psychology, religious education, science and mathematics, social sciences, special education, student counseling, teacher education, teacher/parent relations, and vocational education.
Education Research Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar indexes items Google considers scholarly, including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings, and technical reports. The OSU Libraries subscribes to the electronic version of many of these materials and may own the print copy. See Make Google Scholar Work For You to set the Google Scholar Preferences to ensure you find materials available free to you from the OSU Libraries and OhioLINK.
Humanities International Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database which includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works.
JSTOR [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from 3 and 5 years. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Literature Criticism Online [Selected Full Text] This link opens in a new window Essays on literary criticism, covers all literary genres from 1400 to the present. The publisher was not able to obtain digital copyright for all entries the phrase text not viewable online appears.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Index to journals, books, dictionaries, dissertations, and conference papers on literature, languages, folklore and linguistics. Includes critical writings on literature and human languages, including both naturallanguages and invented languages, e.g., Esperanto. Citations in a non-Roman alphabet are translated into the Roman alphabet.
Project Muse ebook and ejournal collections This link opens in a new window Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.

General Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is an online reference library that provides access to over 500 highly-regarded, scholarly reference books for all subject areas. Credo Reference also has the tools to find sources for further research and access thousands of images, charts, graphs and more.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window Provides access to biographical essays focusing on all genres and time periods of American and British literature and selected other literatures. Essays discuss the lives and careers of authors and summarize critical responses to their work.
Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK) [Full Text] This link opens in a new window Electronic Book Center included ebooks on all subjects, including many encyclopedias, handbooks, biographical collections, and guides.
International Bibliography of Book Reviews of Scholarly Literature on the Humanities and Social Sciences (IBR) This link opens in a new window The IBR contains over 990,000 entries about book reviews from 1985 to the present. Over 6,200 academic journals are represented, with book reviews which are both international and interdisciplinary in scope, and are mainly in the Humanities and Social Sciences. The database is updated monthly, with approximately 50,000 added annually. The database is produced by K.G.Saur, a part of the Thomson company.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory This link opens in a new window A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.
Literary Index This link opens in a new window Literary Index is a master index to the major literature series published by The Gale Group. It combines and cross references the 40 titles in the series with more than 130,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and more than 140,000 titles. The printed series contain complete biographies of authors and critical essays on their works. Search
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window Literary Reference Center Plus features all of the content in Literary Reference Center with additional full text resources. This comprehensive database provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Content includes literary study guides, plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles of literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, author interviews, and images of key literary figures. Topics covered include plays/drama, poetry, religious literature, children's literature, and Hispanic literature, multi-cultural studies, folklore, Latin America literature, and historical literature. The database contains full text reference works and literary journals as well as Salem Press Contemporary Literature Titles relating to Fantasy/Science Fiction, Contemporary Literature, World Philosophy, Quotations In Context, Religious Literature, and Biographies of Nobel Literature Prize Winners.
Literary Research Guide This link opens in a new window Literary research guide is a selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics. This guide evaluates important bibliographies, abstracts, surveys of research, indexes, databases, catalogs, general histories and surveys, annals, chronologies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks.
Literature Online [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window A fully searchable library of more than 290,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose including the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature. Also includes some Greek classics such as Aristophanes and Aristotle. Full text of some of the works are available via a link to other sites. Some are only identified bibliographically. Includes full text biographies as well as citations to key secondary sources.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, offering authoritative research guides across a wide variety of subjects.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window An illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000.
Oxford Reference Online [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window The Core Collection contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource.

Cambridge Companions to Literature (LION)
The Cambridge guide to literature in English
A Year's Work in English Studies The Year's Work in English Studies is the qualitative narrative bibliographical review of scholarly work on English language and literatures written in English. It is the largest and most comprehensive work of its kind and the oldest evaluative work of literary criticism.