Research Guides: ARTEDUC 5367 Reel Injuns: Identity, Art, and Representation: Databases & Websites

Databases for American Indian Studies

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
A collection of ethnographic and other texts that are indexed by culture and subject facilitating the study of human culture, society, and behavior.
Ethnic NewsWatch [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full text database of newspapers published by and for leading American ethnic groups, and provides information on topics not covered by the mainstream press. Additionally, it provides ethnic perspectives of topics of national interest that may vary from what is presented in the mainstream press.
American Indian Histories and Cultures This link opens in a new window
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European colonizers right up to the photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Includes a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.

Image

If you're looking for a specific database, you can go there directly by clicking on the "Research Databases List" link on the right side of the library's main page, and typing in the name of the database. Examples of helpful databases in Art and Art Education are listed and linked to below.

Databases for Art

Art & Architecture Archive
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. The magazines are scanned from cover-to-cover and presented as full-color page images; detailed indexing permits quick, efficient searching and navigation of this material.

Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Complete is the definitive research database for the study of art and architecture. This database provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
Art and Architecture in Video This link opens in a new window
Art and Architecture in Video delivers over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis. Ideal for both undergraduate and graduate courses, the works within this collection offer a dynamic tool to enhance understanding of visual media.
Art Index Retrospective: 1929 - 1984 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Art Index Retrospective: 1929 - 1984 (H.W. Wilson) offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Getty Publications Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable interface for the Getty Publications ebook collections in the fields of art, photography, archaeology, architecture, conservation, and the humanities.

Museum Websites

Some Digital Collections

Plateau Peoples' Web Portal
This Portal is a gateway to Plateau peoples' cultural materials held in multiple repositories including WSU's Manuscripts, Archives and Special Collections, the Northwest Museum of Art and Culture, the National Anthropological Archives, the Library of Congress, the American Philosophical Society, and the National Museum of the American Indian at the Smithsonian Institution. The materials in the Portal have been chosen and curated by tribal representatives. Each item has one or more records associated with it as well as added traditional knowledge and cultural narratives to enhance and enrich understanding to many audiences.
Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains Digital Collection
The Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains Collection includes photographs, paintings, ledger drawings, documents, serigraphs, and stereographs from 1874 through the 1940's.
Indians of the Midwest
Highlights recent research of scholars who have provided new insights about the cultures and histories of Indian peoples in the Midwest.
American Indians of the Pacific NW Collection (University of Washington)
This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics. These cultures have occupied, and in some cases still live in parts of Alaska, British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana.