Research Guides: Molecular Genetics 4606: Finding information

Life Sciences Librarian

Amanda Rinehart

Email Me

Contact:

100E Riffe Building
496 W 12th Ave
Columbus, OH 43210

614-292-3336

Find Articles by Keyword/Subject

BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window BIOSIS Previews, including Biological Abstracts, contains references to journal articles, reports, literature reviews, conference papers, patents, and book synopses in the life sciences. Coverage includes 5500 journals and 1500 international meetings in agriculture, biology, biotechnology, environment, wildlife, ecology, agriculture, forestry and the health sciences.
Academic Search Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 15 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1950's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track analyze and visualize research. Tools to sort, refine and quickly identify results help researchers focus on the outcome of their work.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to citation indexes which can be searched individually or as one file. Arts & Humanities Citation Index indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Science Citation Index Expanded indexes 5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines and contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts for approximately 70 percent of the articles in the database. The Social Sciences Citation Index indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Book Citation Indexes- Science and Social Sciences & Humanties indexes over 30,000 editorially selected books in the sciences, social sciences and humanities, with 10,000 new books added each year. It contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts for approximately 60 per cent of the articles in the database.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar indexes items Google considers scholarly, including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings, and technical reports. The OSU Libraries subscribes to the electronic version of many of these materials and may own the print copy. See Make Google Scholar Work For You to set the Google Scholar Preferences to ensure you find materials available free to you from the OSU Libraries and OhioLINK.

Find Books and more!

Catalogs list books, journals (but not articles within journals), microforms, multimedia as well as online sources (databases and online journals) owned or licensed by a library.

We recommend starting here...

OSU Catalog - Search for books, e-books, and other materials owned by OSU Libraries, Columbus and regional campuses. Borrow Materials online. You can also search with a special mobile version of the OSU Catalog.

OhioLINK Catalog - Combined catalog of a consortium of 88 Ohio university and college libraries, the State Library of Ohio, and more. Have materials delivered to OSU.

WorldCat Local@OSU - Searches materials at OSU, OhioLINK (the Ohio libraries shared catalog), and libraries worldwide.

Other Good Options...

WorldCat.org - WorldCat.org is Web user oriented. Search the collections of participating libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. Please note: Remote (off-campus) access to Interlibrary Services (ILL) is not available via this interface.

WorldCat via FirstSearch - WorldCat via FirstSearch is researcher oriented and provided by OCLC. Features advanced search capabilities and additional evaluative content. This is a subscription database that is available only to OSU users. Remote (off-campus) access to Interlibrary Services (ILL) is available via this interface.

CML Catalog - The Columbus Metropolitan Library (CML) is a good source for popular books, media, entertainment, travel and genealogy materials. Those with CML library cards can request materials online and have them delivered to the most convenient branch library. Find additional public libraries in Ohio, or in over 125 Countries.

Ohio Web Library - These databases are provided to all Ohio residents. You may be asked to enter your zip code and/or your local public library card number before entering.

Ohio Historical Society Catalog - Search the records of more than 230,000 items in the Ohio Historical Society's library, newspaper, manuscript, audiovisual, state archives, history, natural history, and archaeology collections.

Library of Congress Online Catalog - Search many different research collections in the U.S. national library, the Library of Congress.

Search Ohio - SearchOhio provides a search across a number of public library catalogs simultaneously. The portal allows for direct online requests for residents of Ohio.

How to Register in ILLiad and Make Interlibrary Loan Requests

Setting alerts and save searches in PubMed

While setting up alert services can open you to tracking and spam in typical library databases, PubMed is the exception! Because PubMed is a government-sponsored database, they don't use your personal information for marketing purposes. The video below explains how to save searches and set up alerts!