GenEd 1201 Launch Seminar Guide

This guide supports students enrolled in GenEd 1201, Launch Seminar

Library Locations and Hours

ASK US!

If you need additional help with your research for this class, including finding articles, organizing your research, or citing your sources, you can contact the Libraries' Ask Us! team here: https://library.osu.edu/askus (please let them know you are taking English 1110).

 

OSU Library Catalog Search

Connect to OSU Library catalog

Select the search type from the dropdown menu and enter your search words...

 

Welcome!

Welcome to The Ohio State University and the Ohio State General Education. Whether this is your first semester at Ohio State or you have a few semesters of experience, you will find resources on this guide to support you in completing the Launch Seminar and the General Education.

Accessing Library Resources

The library website at library.osu.edu is the portal for our resources

You may be asked to login with your Ohio State credentials to access material that is only available to students, staff, and faculty of Ohio State.


Books

Our catalog will tell you the location and status of books and other materials that we own. Many of our books are in our off-site storage book depository and must be requested through the catalog for delivery to Thompson Library or some other location. You can also click on OhioLINK catalog from within our catalog to borrow books and other materials from other colleges in Ohio.


Journals

Journals and other periodicals that we own either in paper or digitally are listed in the catalog. Since we get digital materials from a wide variety of sources, you should also check the journal name in the online journals list available from the top page of the library website. Many articles can be accessed from within our research databases.


Films

The library has a collection of dvds that can be found in the catalog. We also have collections of streaming video in the Criterion CollectionEthnographic Video Online, Films on Demand, and KanopySubject Guides will often recommend specific video collections.


Databases

To find articles (and sometimes other materials) you need a research database. These can be found by name or subject area by clicking on research databases list from the library webpage or from this guide.


If we don't have it

Interlibrary Services can help.

Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research

eBook Available! Free DownloadChoosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research

Library Services & Research Guides

Librarian

Profile Photo
Beth Black
Contact:
221B Thompson Library, 1858 Neil Ave, Columbus, OH 43210
614-688-5428
Social: Twitter Page

Subject Librarians