Research Guides: INTSTDS 4850: --South Asia

Resources on South Asia

Opposing ViewPoints in Context- India

About the Ohio State University's South Asian Area Studies Collection

South Asia falls under the Middle East Studies section of the OSU Library. While OSU Libraries do not have as extensive a collection of South Asian titles as other research libraries that have larger and older programs, we do have access to a large number of databases dealing with the sub-continent. We also have a large number of English language Indian journals available online.

See the Bibliography of Asian Studies for resources for this region.

Resources

Geography and Natural Environment:

Sources focused on climate, water resources and vegetation

Map quiz - Central & East Asia

Water resourcs and climate change: An Indian perspective (journal article)

Geography in India selected themes
See chapter 2 - Physical Geography
High-Impact Weather Events over the SAARC Region
Read "Long Term Trends in the Extreme Rainfall Events over India" and explore other papers contributed by researchers and scientists from SAARC nations on high-impact weather conditions in the SAARC region
The Nepal-India Water Relationship
A publication from the Institute for Integrated Development Studies (IIDS).
See chapter 2 "Historical Eye View" for an overview of Nepal's water resources.
World Geography Volume 2: Asia

People:

Sources focused on population (spatial) distribution, migration, and demographics

Census of India: Migration
Since 2001, the Office of the Registrar General & Census Commissioner in India have made census migration statistics available. Read a synopsis of the "migration" census data.
Data.gov (India)
Data from Indian government resources.

Development:

Sources focused on the economic sector, urbanization, and economic systems

A Taste for Power - British Colonialism (video)

Cities and Public Policy
See chapter 4 - Right to the City: Making Urbanization Inclusive
Regional Development and Public Policy Challenges in India
See chapter 8 - Inclusive Growth” and Income Inequality in India Under Globalization: Causes, Consequences and Policy Responses"
Regional Development and Public Policy Challenges in India
See chapter 9 - Examining the Regional Imbalance in China: Comparison with India

"Challenges and opportunities in an urbanising India"

Culture:

Sources focused on current and changing ideology, ethnicity, language, religion, and social class

Secularism and Religion in Multi-Faith Societies: The Case of India
See chapter 4 - Conclusion

"How English Ruined Indian Literature"
An opinion article from the New York Times.

Geopolitics:

Sources focused on territorial divisions, cooperation (economic/security/military), and conflict

Conflict Between India and Pakistan
See the "preface" of this encyclopedia.

Pakistan-India Conflict with Special Reference to Kashmir (journal article)
YaleGlobal Online-South Asia
YaleGlobal Online is a publication of the Whitney and Betty MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies at Yale

Maps

South Asia

News Sources

Asian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to more than 60 of the most respected national and regional sources of news and current affairs information in Asia and the Far East. Many titles are available in full text and are updated within 24 hours of publication. Publications include The Wall Street Journal Asia, China News and The Bangkok Post.

The Times of India-(New Delhli edition)
Access World News Research Collection
Select from a list of news sources from or focused on India.
Scroll.in
Scroll.in is a digital daily of political and cultural news for India. Our focus is on analyses,reportage and commentary.

Local Columbus Events

The Indian Students Association organizes a variety of local cultural events including annual celebrations of the Hindu festivals Holi and Diwali. Check their website for more information on dates and scheduling.

Also check out the annual India Festival.