AFAMAST 2101/HISTART2101: African Art and Archeology

Notes and Bibliography style, which utilizes footnotes and endnotes both for citing material and also to provide extra information should the author wish to, and the Author-Date style. 

Footnote Citations (Notes and Bibliography)

Citations for footnotes will differ depending on the type of resource you are citing. In general, CMS requires a full citation (like in your bibliography), with a few differences in your footnote. Differences include:

• The author(s)'s name(s) will be listed as firstname lastname, rather than lastname, firstname like it is in the Bibliography. 
• The publication information will be in parentheses.
• There will be a comma after the publication information, with page numbers citing either your quote or the pages in which you found the information you're using.

Example: 

1. Barry Estabrook. Pig Tales: An Omnivore's Quest for Sustainable Meat. (New York: W.W. Norton & Company, 2015), 15-25.

In some cases, it may be appropriate to use a shortened citation in a footnote. That would look like this: 

1. Estabrook, Pig Tales, 15-25.

In-Text or Parenthetical Citations (Author-Date)

In-text citations can also be used to tell your professor which source you used at a specific point in the paper.

These citations also correspond to the full citation found in the Bibliography at the end of your paper.

Here are three examples of in-text citations:

1. Use a signal phrase and a quote. A signal phrase introduces the author in a lead in a sentence with a quote, and then places the publication year and page number at the end.
   • Pollan explains that "the apple, like the settlers themselves, had to forsake its former domestic life and return to the wild before it could be reborn as an American"  (2001,13).
2. Use a direct quote. A direct quote places the author, publication year and page number in parenthesis at the end.
   • "In effect, the apple like the settlers themselves, had to forsake its former domestic life and return to the wild before it could be reborn as an American" (Pollan, 2001, 13).
3. Use a signal phrase and a paraphrase. A signal phrase introduces the author in the sentence, and rather than quote the author directly, you restate the author's ideas in your own words. This is followed by the publication year and page number in parenthesis.
   • Michael Pollan compares the apple to the settler, because both required an experience in the wild in order to fully express the American experience (2001, 13).

Creating a Bibliography

The importance of citing sources of information cannot be overemphasized.  The citation of a source provides the reader with the background necessary to validate (or invalidate) the value and accuracy of the information.  Additionally, citation rightfully gives credit to the authors, editors, and others who contributed to the publishing or dissemination of the information.

There are a large number of styles to choose from in establishing a proper bibliography.  Submissions to journals typically must adhere to specific rules for the given journal.  Requirements in an academic coursework setting are usually established by the instructor. 

Citation management software saves your time by helping you keep track of the articles, books and other resources you use, and helps you instantly format your bibliographies in the citation style of your choosing.