Using Call Numbers in Libraries

Background

Libraries organize their materials (books, magazines, journals) in a specific order. Because of the wide variety of materials libraries collect, it wouldn’t be very useful to organize them just by author names. This is why libraries use classification systems to organize these materials first by categories and then by authors.

Types of Classification

There are two common systems that libraries in America use to organize their books and other materials.

• Dewey Decimal System
  • This system is frequently used in Public Libraries, School Libraries, and some colleges and universities.
• Library of Congress Classification System
  • This system is used in governmental libraries, such as the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. and is used in large universities, such as Ohio State.

We have both classification systems represented here in Thompson Library! This is because we have a small collection of public library materials for popular interest, browsing, and leisure reading.

Call Numbers

A Call Number is a unique classification code assigned to a book based on the classification system. It is often a combination of letters and numbers. This code tells you where to find the item when looking for it in the library. These numbers allow for books to be grouped by specific topics. The more numbers involved, the more specific the topic is.

Library of Congress

In the Library of Congress system, a book’s Call Number starts with a letter which corresponds to a broad category of information. 

Library of Congress Categories

A -- GENERAL WORKS

B -- PHILOSOPHY. PSYCHOLOGY. RELIGION

C -- AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY

D -- WORLD HISTORY AND HISTORY OF EUROPE, ASIA, AFRICA, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND, ETC.

E -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS

F -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS

G -- GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION

H -- SOCIAL SCIENCES

J -- POLITICAL SCIENCE

K -- LAW

L -- EDUCATION

M -- MUSIC AND BOOKS ON MUSIC

N -- FINE ARTS

P -- LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE

Q -- SCIENCE

R -- MEDICINE

S -- AGRICULTURE

T -- TECHNOLOGY

U -- MILITARY SCIENCE

V -- NAVAL SCIENCE

Z -- BIBLIOGRAPHY. LIBRARY SCIENCE. INFORMATION RESOURCES (GENERAL)

By the end of the this session of the Young Scholars Summer Justice Institute, we hope you will be able to:

• Find a book in the library using a call number

• Confidently navigate the ground, first and second floors of Thompson Library  

• Identify one new understanding of the broad nature of library resources, collections and expertise 

Special Collections at University Libraries

• Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum is the largest and most comprehensive academic research facility documenting printed cartoon art, including editorial cartoons, comic strips, comic books, graphic novels, and manga.

• Byrd Polar and Climate Research Center Archival Program makes unique historical material documenting polar exploration and scientific investigation available for research and educational use, including records of explorers, scientists and polar research organizations.

• Hilandar Research Library houses the largest collection of medieval Slavic Cyrillic manuscripts on microform in the world. The Library is a collaboration between the Ohio State University Libraries and the Resource Center for Medieval Slavic Studies.

• The Lawrence and Lee Theatre Research Institute acquires, preserves, documents, and makes accessible materials that reveal our performing arts culture and history for scholarship and education.

• The Medical Heritage Center preserves, promotes, teaches and celebrates the health care legacy of central Ohio as the essential foundation from which the future of the health sciences is born.

• Established in 2004 to build upon the papers of Senator John Glenn, Ohio Public Policy Archives is a collaborative effort of The Ohio State University Libraries and the John Glenn School of Public Affairs.

• The Rare Books and Manuscripts Library contains primary-source materials and related published works from the medieval period to modern literature and the arts and which are available for advanced study and research.

• The mission of The Ohio State University Archives is to serve as the official memory of the University. The Archives identifies, preserves, and makes available records and documentation of continuing and historical value to the University.