Helpful Tools and Resources - Of Meta-analysis in Science - ENTOMOLOGY 7890

Selected Resources: Books

Applied Meta-Analysis with R and Stata by Karl E. Peace; Ding-Geng (Din) Chen
Publication Date: 2021

A hands-on guide for practitioners who want to familiarize themselves with the fundamentals of meta-analysis.
Doing Meta-Analysis with R by Mathias Harrer; Pim Cuijpers; Toshi A. Furukawa; David D. Ebert
ISBN: 9781003107347

Publication Date: 2021

This book serves as an accessible introduction on how meta-analyses can be conducted in R.
Handbook of Meta-Analysis by Christopher H. Schmid; Theo Stijnen; Ian White
Publication Date: 2020

This book is for a broad audience of graduate students, researchers, and practitioners interested in the theory and application of statistical methods for meta-analysis.
Handbook of Meta-Analysis in Ecology and Evolution by Julia Koricheva; Jessica Gurevitch; Kerrie Mengersen
Publication Date: 2013

Comprehensive handbook of meta-analysis written specifically for ecologists and evolutionary biologists.
The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis by Harris Cooper; Larry V. Hedges; Jeffrey C. Valentine
Publication Date: 2019

The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis draws upon groundbreaking advances that have transformed research synthesis from a narrative craft into an important scientific process in its own right.
Methods of Meta-Analysis : Correcting Error and Bias in Research Findings by Frank L Schmidt; John E Hunter
Publication Date: 2015

Designed to provide researchers clear and informative insight into techniques of meta-analysis.
Principles and practice of systematic reviews and meta-analysis by Sanjay Patole
Publication Date: 2021

This contributed volume introduces the readers to the principles and practice of systematic reviews and meta-analysis.

Guidelines

Guidelines and Standards for Evidence Synthesis in Environmental Management
Developed and maintained by the Collaboration for Environmental Evidence (CEE), these are the premier guidelines for evidence synthesis in the fields environmental studies and natural resources.
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions
The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions is the official guide that describes in detail the process of preparing and maintaining Cochrane systematic reviews on the effects of healthcare interventions.
Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses (PRISMA)
The premier guidelines for reporting systematic reviews and other evidence synthesis.
PRISMA for Searching (PRISMA-Search)
The checklist includes 16 reporting items, each of which is detailed with exemplar reporting and rationale.
Reporting standards for Systematic Evidence Syntheses (ROSES)
Reporting guidelines from the Collaboration for Environmental Evidence (CEE)
Evidence Synthesis Protocol Template
A broad, general protocol template that is adaptable to many evidence synthesis project types.

Software and Tools

Systematic Review Toolbox
A clearinghouse for all things systematic review, including templates, reporting standards, screening tools, risk of bias assessment, etc.
greylitsearcher
A web-based tool for performing systematic and transparent searches of organizational websites.
Covidence
Web-based to for managing the review workflow. Tools for screening records, managing full-text articles, and extracting data. Available for Ohio State Researchers with osu.edu email address.
litsearchr
The litsearchr R package facilitates quick, objective, reproducible search strategy development using text-mining and keyword co-occurrence networks to identify important terms to include in a search strategy

Library Guides

Selected resources: Journal articles

Del Ponte, E. M., Barro, J. P., & Madden, L. V. 2024. Meta-analysis in plant pathology: Publication patterns, methodological trends, and potential future directions. Plant Disease, 108(11), 3212–3221. https://doi.org/10.1094/PDIS-10-23-2180-FE

Nakagawa, S., Yang, Y., Macartney, E. L., Spake, R., & Lagisz, M. 2023. Quantitative evidence synthesis: A practical guide on meta-analysis, meta-regression, and publication bias tests for environmental sciences. Environmental Evidence, 12(1), 8. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13750-023-00301-6

Pappalardo, P., Song, C., Hungate, B. A., & Osenberg, C. W. 2023. A meta-evaluation of the quality of reporting and execution in ecological meta-analyses. PLOS ONE, 18(10), e0292606. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0292606

Philibert, A., Loyce, C., & Makowski, D. 2012. Assessment of the quality of meta-analysis in agronomy. Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment, 148, 72–82. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.agee.2011.12.003