Data Search Tools - Of Meta-analysis in Science - ENTOMOLOGY 7890

Data Journals

General Data Journals

Data in Brief
Data in Brief is a multidisciplinary, open access, peer-reviewed journal, which mainly publishes short, digestible data articles that describe and provide access to research data.
Scientific Data
Scientific Data is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal for descriptions of datasets, and research that advances the sharing and reuse of scientific data.

Disciplinary Data Journals

Exclusively Data Papers:

Biodiversity Data Journal
Biodiversity Data Journal (BDJ) is a community peer-reviewed, open access, comprehensive online platform, designed to accelerate publishing, dissemination and sharing of biodiversity-related data of any kind.
Earth System Science Data
Earth System Science Data (ESSD) is an international, interdisciplinary journal for the publication of articles on original research data (sets), furthering the reuse of high-quality data of benefit to Earth system sciences.

Accepts Data Papers:

Datasets are often difficult or impossible to find through normal search engines. Specialized tools have been developed to aggregate the results from around the web. Which tool to use depends on how broad or specific your search query will be. Common strategies include searching by:

Search Engines and Catalogs
Source or Producer webpages
Disciplinary Data Repositories
Research and Reporting Sources, like data journals, bibliographies, and newspapers

Search Engines and Catalogs

When to use a data catalog? As a starting place if you are still trying to narrow down the topic you are interested in. Can also be helpful to find data repositories that allow for more specific searches.

General Purpose:

Google Dataset Search
Google for datasets, which cannot be readily located through regular Google. Despite indexing millions of datasets, it is still not comprehensive!
DataCite Search
More than 12 million datasets from around the world that have been shared by researchers in institutional and subject-based data repositories.
OpenAIRE
A pan-European infrastructure for discovering scholarly outputs, including datasets and articles.
Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more
Data Europa
The official portal for data from the governments of the European Union.

Disciplinary:

DataONE
A federation of more than 40 data repositories in the environmental and earth sciences, containing over 800,000 datasets.
FAIDARE
The FAIR Data-finder for Agronomic REsearch facilitates the discoverability of public data on plant biology from a federation of 40 established data repositories.
Data-PASS
The Data Preservation Alliance for the Social Sciences is a voluntary partnership of organizations created to archive, catalog, and preserve data used for social science research. It harvests data from 8 large-scale social research archives.
Web of Science Data Citation Index
Over 15 million datasets ingested from 453 data repositories. Can be filtered by WoS disciplinary categories.

Locating Sources and Producers

The federal government provides free public access to vast amounts of data produced through both government operations and government-funded research.

Federal Statistical Agencies

Federal Statistical Agencies
There are 13 Principal Statistical Agencies in the U.S. government that are tasked with collecting and sharing statistics and data. Because they produce the majority of federal statistics, browsing the list of these agencies is a good starting point for locating government-produced data in an area of interest.

Recommended Statistical Programs:

National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
The National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) is responsible for conducting monthly and annual surveys and preparing official USDA data and estimates of production, supply, prices, and other information necessary to maintain orderly agricultural operations. NASS also conducts the census of agriculture which is currently conducted every 5 years.
Economic Research Service
The Economic Research Service (ERS) of the U.S. Department of Agriculture provides economic research and information to inform public and private decision making on economic and policy issues related to agriculture, food, natural resources, and rural America.
Census Bureau Data
The U.S. Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. In addition to the decennial census, the Census Bureau conducts an Economic Census, Census of Governments, and dozens of survey programs.

Federal Science Agencies

Federal Science Agencies
Since 2013, the federal agencies that fund large amounts of scientific research have been required to issue plans for how they will make the products of that research available to the public. Referencing these plans is a good starting point for finding the data repositories and catalogs an agency uses for dissemination of research data.

Recommended Research Programs:

USDA Open Data Catalog
This catalog is the authoritative source of publicly available data from the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
Open FDA
OpenFDA indexes high-value, high priority public data from the Food and Drug Administration, including medical device reports, enforcement reports, and drug adverse event reports.
USGS Science Data Catalog
The USGS Science Data Catalog provides access to USGS research and monitoring data from across the nation. Topics include earth sciences, environmental issues, life sciences, natural hazards, natural resources, and more.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
EPA data includes air, energy, environmental justice, health and risk, land and cleanup, sustainability, water, and more.
NOAA One Stop
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration provides weather, climate, shoreline, and bathymetry data, and more.
FAOSTAT
FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.

DataOhio
DataOhio is an online catalog containing research, news, and public datasets from state agencies and other entities.
Mid-Ohio Open Data (M.O.O.D.)
Mid-Ohio Open Data is a one-stop location for all of the Mid-Ohio Regional Planning Commission's publicly available datasets. Users will find maps and downloadable GIS and tabular data in categories such as transportation, demographics, land use, and more.
Columbus Open Data
Find and freely download high quality data from the City of Columbus. Categories include boundaries, infrastructure, planning, transportation, and more.

AgBioData
A consortium of 44 agricultural biological databases with the mission of consolidating standards and best practices for acquiring, displaying, and reusing genomic, genetic, and breeding (GGB) data
Earth Science Information Partners (ESIP)
ESIP is a nonprofit funded by cooperative agreements with NASA, NOAA, and USGS that brings together interdisciplinary collaborations to share technical knowledge and engage with data users in the earth sciences.
Long-Term Agroecosystem Research (LTAR) Network
LTAR scientists are responsible for managing a rich legacy of data spanning over seventy years for many sites.
Kellogg Biological Station (KBS) Long-Term Ecological Research (LTER)
The KBS LTER Data Catalog is a collection of publicly available datatables on Midwest cropping systems and agricultural landscapes.

Disciplinary Repositories

A repository is a database intended for long-term preservation of research data.

Repositories are generally either categorized as general-use, meaning they accept data from any discipline, or disciplinary repositories, which focus on a particular research field or data type.

Repository Catalogs

re3data.org
re3data stands for the REgistry of REsearch Data REpositories. They provide a searchable list of discipline-specific repository options.
FAIRsharing
FAIRsharing provides a searchable database of policies, standards, and databases (i.e. repositories) for sharing data.

Recommended Repository:

Ag Data Commons
Ag Data Commons is a centralized registry for USDA-funded data already on the web, as well as a repository for new data being published for the first time.

Example Disciplinary Repositories

American Phytopathological Society Image Database
Images in the APS Image Database are tagged with descriptive metadata, including pathogen and host scientific binomials and common names
InsectImages.org
InsectImages.org provides an archive of high quality images related to identification of insect species. The site is part of the Bugwood Network images sites.
ISRIC Soil Data Hub
ISRIC has been working for over 50 years on compiling and harmonising data on soils and their properties from around the globe.
VEuPathDB
The Eukaryotic Pathogen, Vector, and Host Informatics Resources (VEuPathDB) ensure that genomic and other large-scale datasets pertaining to supported organisms are conveniently accessible to and searchable by the worldwide community of biomedical researchers.
NeuroMorpho
NeuroMorpho is a centrally curated inventory of digitally reconstructed neurons and glia associated with peer-reviewed publications. It contains contributions from over 900 laboratories worldwide.