Research Guides: BIO 4000: Library Research

Resources

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
Choose Gale Virtual Library link and search for “ohio state university”.
Who's Who Online
Offers brief biographical information on contemporary and historical persons from a wide range of fields.
Use Advanced Search; type “ohio state university” in company/organization line; type additional keyword in keyword line.

Proquest Historical Newspapers
Select New York Times (1852-), Washington Post (1877-1990), Wall Street Journal, 1889-1995; Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), Chicago Tribune (April, 1849-1985), and Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Cleveland Call and Post 1934-1991; The Baltimore Afro-American 1893-1988; New York Amsterdam News 1922-1993; Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2002; Times of India, 1838-2001. Search all together or select title from database menu.
Access World News (1980s-)
Database offers newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. This databases includes various Ohio newspapers. After entering the database select “Ohio” for expanded access to Ohio newspapers beyond what you see on the initial database web page which shows selected Ohio titles. Includes Columbus Dispatch.
Lexis Nexis Academic (1970s-)
Provides access to US and international newspapers, legal materials, selected periodicals and reference sources. Period of publication varies.

Web of Science (1900-)
Find published literature by author or other parameters. Use “cited reference search” to find references that cite important articles, books and other resources.

US Patent and Trademark Office database
The patents from 1976-present can be searched by names and institutions. Before 1976 searches must use patent numbers and/or classification codes only.
Eg. to search for OSU as assignee: AN/ohio and AN/state and AN/university