Research Guides: BIO 4000: Archival Research

Resources

Buckeye History
Buckeye History provides links to many online resources useful for doing historical research about OSU. The resources that will be most useful for your research have their own tabs here, but it might be worth taking a look to see what else you can find.

Lantern Digital Archives
The Lantern Digital Archives includes the full text of all issues of The Lantern from 1881-2013. It's a great resource for learning more about historical events on campus. You can search for particular names or browse by date.
Using the Lantern Digital Archives
This blog post goes over some of the most useful features of the Lantern Digital Archives interface and will help you make the most of this resource.

Oral Histories
This is a list of all oral history interviews conducted by the University Archives. There is a transcript for all interviews and audio recordings for some. Keep in mind that oral histories, while often very interesting and informative, are not always as reliable as many other resources because they rely on memories and interpretations.

Biographical Files
These files contain a variety of material related to the lives and professional careers of faculty, staff and students at OSU. The files listed are those that have already been scanned but many more are available at the Archives. You can email the Archives (archives@osu.edu) to inquire about the existence of a file and request that it be scanned.

Subject Files
Like the biographical files, this list is of digitized reference files from the Archives reading room. This is a full list of all files available. If you see a file you'd like to have digitized, you can contact the Archives (archives@osu.edu).

Herrick Archives

John Herrick, former Director of the Office of Campus Planning, created a comprehensive history of campus buildings (through 1988). The information he collected is available in print in the University Archives and Architecture Library as well as two different online portals.

Knowledge Bank Herrick Archives
Made up of individual PDFs that each represent a building or cluster of buildings on campus. To search this collection, make sure the "Only this Collection" option is selected underneath the search box.
Knowlton School Digital Library Herrick Archives
This interface provides better interactive content to the archives as well as photographs, but it is currently incomplete.

Buckeye Stroll

The University Archives created this interactive walking tour of campus history. Like the Herrick Archives, it documents the history of campus buildings and features. You can access it via browser or through the OSU Mobile app.

Buckeye Stroll for Web
This version of Buckeye Stroll works best in a web browser.
OSU Mobile App
You can download the OSU mobile app here or through the Android or Apple app stores. To get to Buckeye Stroll, choose "Tours."

In addition to the resources described on the other tabs, there are a wide variety of materials only available at the University Archives. These include:

Alumni Magazine
Centennial Histories (histories of colleges and departments)
Commencement Programs (including biographies of honorary degree and award recipients)
College, Department and Faculty collections (a full list of collections is available online and inventories can be provided by email on request)

If you are interested in any of these resources, please contact the Archives and set up a research appointment.

Digital Archives Materials

Robert Zollinger Collection Finding Aid
This collection is held by the Medical Heritage Center. If you'd like to view this collection, please contact Kristin Rodgers to make an appointment:
Robert Zollinger Biographical File
Biographical information about Zollinger.
Alumni Magazine Index Cards
These are cards from the University Archives' index of the Alumni Magazine. If you would like to request PDF copies of any articles or make an appointment to visit the Archives and look at them in person, contact the Archives.

Albert L. Henne
Biographical information about Henne.

College of Veterinary Medicine Subject File
Information about the history of the College.
Richard Olsen Biographical File
Biographical information about Olsen.
Alumni Magazine Index Cards
These are cards from the University Archives' index of the Alumni Magazine. If you would like to request PDF copies of any articles or make an appointment to visit the Archives and look at them in person, contact the Archives.

Librarian

University Archives

Email Me