Research Guides: Education Research Guide, College of Education & Human Ecology: Speech & Hearing Science

College of Arts and Sciences: Department of Speech and Hearing Science

Speech and hearing science, with concentrations in speech-language pathology, audiology, speech science and hearing science.

Evidence Synthesis NOTE:

In our current staffing environment, our liaison librarians do not have the capacity to support evidence synthesis beyond the resources provided in this guide. Please refer to the Health Sciences Guide for additional resources.

Speech & Hearing Resources

Academic Search Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

ASHA Evidence Maps American Speech Language Hearing Association Evidence Maps
ASHA Practice Portal Information on clinical topics, professional issues, client and patient handouts, tools and templates for clinical practice.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Contains citations from 1982 to present with abstracts to articles published in more than 650 English-language nursing and allied health journals as well as virtually all publications of the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing. Covers relevant materials from biomedicine, management, behavioral sciences, health sciences librarianship, education, and consumer health. CINAHL provides references to new books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, critical paths, and research instruments. Also contains database of limited indexing for newly published articles known as Pre-CINAHL.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of six evidence-based medicine databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration. They are Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database, and About The Cochrane Collaboration.
Education Research Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
Embase This link opens in a new window With over 31 million indexed records and more than 8,500 indexed peer-reviewed journals, Embase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. All articles are indexed in depth using the Elsevier Life Science thesaurus Emtree®.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with tests in print This link opens in a new window A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments in psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database with more than 510 full text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. A subset of Academic Search Premier.

PsycTESTS PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as information about the test and its development and administration.

PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 15 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1950's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

SpeechBITE Recent treatment research in speech pathology

Web of Science (All Databases search) This link opens in a new window Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) is a cross-searchable interface for numerous Thompson Reuters databases including: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Derwent Innovations Index, and Journal Citation Reports.

SpeechBITE Tutorial

The American Speech - Language Hearing Association (ASHA)

ASHA Practice Portal
Find information on clinical topics, professional issues, client and patient handouts, and tools and templates for your clinical practice.
ASHA Research
Evidence maps, research reports and survey and additional resources to help with research.