Research Guides: English Studies: 20th/21st C. British and American

Selected Literary Magazines--Hyperlinked

The New Yorker
Harper's Magazine
Online full text 1976-2007; recent issues available in Thompson Library.
Ploughshares
The Paris Review
New England Review
The Kenyon Review
Alaska Quarterly Review
Print. Recent issues in Thompson Library.
Prairie Schooner
The Antioch Review

Additional titles can be found by using these subject searches:

Selected Catalog Searches by Subject--These are Hyperlinked Examples

You can also browse nearby subjects in the catalog.

Selected Reference Sources--These are Hyperlinked Examples

Selected Databases--Articles and Primary Sources--These Are Hyperlinked Examples

JSTOR [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from 3 and 5 years. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Index to journals, books, dictionaries, dissertations, and conference papers on literature, languages, folklore and linguistics. Includes critical writings on literature and human languages, including both naturallanguages and invented languages, e.g., Esperanto. Citations in a non-Roman alphabet are translated into the Roman alphabet.
Modern American Poetry This link opens in a new window Supplements and extends the text Anthology of Modern American Poetry. Includes additional poems, essays, biographical material, illustrations, historical backgrounds, bibliographies, syllabi, links to other Interent resources, and more.
American Film Scripts Online [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window American Film Scripts contains 1,009 scripts by 1,062 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. Each script is extensively and deeply indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-fielded searching.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window The American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1940 collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1940. Deriving from the American Periodicals Series microform collection, APS Online features over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.
America's Historical Newspapers [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window Features cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. For students and scholars of early America, this unique collection offers an unprecedented look back into the extraordinary history of the United States -- the story of her people, ideals, commerce and everyday life.
John Johnson Collection This link opens in a new window This collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Categories include nineteenth-century entertainment, the booktrade, popular prints, crimes, murders and executions, and advertising.

Journals--These are Hyperlinked Examples

Related OSUL Special Collections--Hyperlinked

James Thurber Papers Celebrated author and humorist, a Columbus native and OSU alum
Helen Hooven Santmyer Papers First published in 1982 by the Ohio State University Press, Helen Hooven Santmyer called nearby Xenia, OH home. Her works affirmed the engaging and ethereal qualities of life in the small towns of the Midwest.
Nelson Algren Collection Literary manuscripts and correspondence of Nelson Algren. Nelson Algren (1909-1981) is most famous as the author of The Man with the Golden Arm, a novel which won the first National Book Award ever granted (1950).
The Raymond Carver Papers

Ohio State nav bar

English Studies

Selected Literary Magazines--Hyperlinked

Selected Catalog Searches by Subject--These are Hyperlinked Examples

Selected Reference Sources--These are Hyperlinked Examples

Selected Databases--Articles and Primary Sources--These Are Hyperlinked Examples

Journals--These are Hyperlinked Examples

Related OSUL Special Collections--Hyperlinked

Selected Internet Resources--Hyperlinked