MLA International BibliographyThis link opens in a new windowIndex to journals, books, dictionaries, dissertations, and conference papers on literature, languages, folklore and linguistics. Includes critical writings on literature and human languages, including both naturallanguages and invented languages, e.g., Esperanto. Citations in a non-Roman alphabet are translated into the Roman alphabet.
JSTOR [Selected Articles in Full Text]This link opens in a new windowJSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from 3 and 5 years. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Wright American Fiction [Selected Articles in Full Text]This link opens in a new windowA collection of 19th century American fiction as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875, the Wright American Fiction attempts to include every novel published in the United States from 1851 to 1875 by well known writers such as Louisa May Alcott, Mark Twain, Nathaniel Hawthorne, and Herman Melville, along with many forgotten authors whose works may have been very popular in their own time.
19th Century US NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowIndex to United States newspapers published between 1800-1899.
19th-Century Literature and CultureThis link opens in a new windowThe 19th-Century Literature and Culture collection offers scholars and students primary and secondary materials by some of the era's most enduring figures.
American Broadsides and Ephemera Series IThis link opens in a new windowAmerican Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I provides unique perspectives on American history, culture and daily life from 1760 to 1900. Includes approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. Offers advertisements, playbills and programs, trade cards, billheads, menus, invitations, certificates and much more. Features fully searchable, full-color digital facsimiles of rare printed materials.
American PeriodicalsThis link opens in a new windowThe American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1940 collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1940. Deriving from the American Periodicals Series microform collection, APS Online features over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.
The Capital Newspaper digitized (1871-1880)The Capital is a newspaper that was published weekly in Washington, D.C. from March 12, 1871 through June of 1889. Donn Piatt, of Ohio (Piatt Castles in Logan County) served as editor from 1871-1879 and wrote some of the editorials.
Early American Imprints. Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) [Selected Articles in Full Text]This link opens in a new windowCovering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century.
America's Historical Newspapers [Selected Articles in Full Text]This link opens in a new windowFeatures cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. For students and scholars of early America, this unique collection offers an unprecedented look back into the extraordinary history of the United States -- the story of her people, ideals, commerce and everyday life.
America's Historical ImprintsThis link opens in a new windowAmerica's Historical Imprints is a cross-searchable database offering access to more than 100,000 early American books, pamphlets, broadsides and rare printed materials. This interface searches the Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1800-1819 American Broadsides & Ephemera, 1760-1900 and Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922.
Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowThis site allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
History CommonsThis link opens in a new windowHistory Commons holds the content formerly hosted by Accessible Archives and that provides a comprehensive database of diverse primary resources related to 18th, 19th, and early-20th century American history and culture. With full-text searchability, digital imaging, and Modules, users can manipulate their search to allow for specific, detailed results on primary resource materials from notable historic periodicals and books. Eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records are available in a user-friendly online environment
Index to 19th Century American ArtThis link opens in a new windowIndexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century, providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period. The Index describes the entire journal contents (articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements) and offers information on popular culture and industry, artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decorations, and collecting.
North American Slave Narratives (UNC--Documenting the American South)"North American Slave Narratives" collects books and articles that document the individual and collective story of African Americans struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries. This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920. Also included are many of the biographies of fugitive and former slaves and some significant fictionalized slave narratives published in English before 1920.
