The Ohio State Universities | University Libraries | Resource Guides

French

Reference eBooks

Film Resources

Films from most of our streaming collections can be found by title in our catalog.  You can also browse the collections below.

Educational Films & Documentaries

  • There is a region-free DVD player available on reserve at the circulation desk in Thompson Library.  This can be checked out for four hours with a cable to attach to monitors in the group study rooms in Thompson.  Overnight checkout is also available two hours before the library closes to one hour after opening.

Guide to Finding Resources

The library website at library.osu.edu is the portal for our resources.  Be sure to login via the off-campus sign-in if you are not on campus to be able to get to material that is restricted to OSU registered students, faculty, and staff.

books

Our catalog will tell you the location and status of books and other materials that we own.  Many of our books are in our off-site storage book depository and must be requested through the catalog for delivery to Thompson Library or some other location. You can also click on OhioLINK catalog from within our catalog to borrow books and other materials from other colleges in Ohio.

journals

Journals and other periodicals that we own either in paper or digitally are listed in the catalog .  Since we get digital materials from a wide variety of sources, you should also check the journal name in the online journals list available from the top page of the library website.  Many articles can be accessed from within our research databases.

films

The library has a collection of dvds that can be found in the catalog .  We also have collections of streaming video in the Criterion Collection,  Ethnographic Video Online, Films on Demand,  and other multimedia databases . Subject guides will often recommend specific video collections.

databases

To find articles (and sometimes other materials) you need a research database.  These can be found by name or subject area by clicking on research databases list from the library webpage or from this guide.

special collections

The library has collections of primary source material and other unique items in Special Collections.

if we don't have it

Interlibrary Loan can help.

Requests for New Streaming Films

The Libraries can license some films for streaming through Swank Motion Pictures.

First search the list of titles available through Swank here:

Search

 

 

To request a film for streaming, fill out a request form. To see what we currently have licensed for streaming, visit http://go.osu.edu/swanklist.

For questions about this service, contact olivera.3@osu.edu .  

Reference Department

Reference Department's picture
Reference Department
Contact:
Reference Department
250 Thompson Library
1858 Neil Avenue Mall
Columbus, Ohio 43210
614-292-6785
Website