Research Guides: Economics: Books

Searching for Books to Use

Use the OSU Library Catalog to find books. Just a hint, when you are searching for books, you are really searching a RECORD for a book. You are searching the titles, tables of contents, and subjects.

Use Worldcat@OSU to locate books we don't have in our catalog, this is research database that searches many library collections at once, and you would do this after you have tried using our catalog. You can borrow books we don't have via Interlibrary Loan.

Locating the Books You Need

You searched the catalog and found this book

Note the location (Thompson 6th Floor), it's call number (HB501 .S434 2001) and status (available). Remember you can have books delivered between libraries, such as Law, Regional Campuses and the Book Depository.

Handbooks, Encyclopedias, & Dictionaries

21st Century Economics (ebook) by Rhona C. Free
ISBN: 1412979293
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Provides summaries of theory and models in key areas of micro and macroeconomics. Topics include an introduction to relevant theory and empirical evidence
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics by Palgrave Macmillan Ltd Staff (Editor)
ISBN: 9781349951888
Publication Date: 2018-02-05
Now in its third edition, this award-winning publication contains entries written by the world's most influential economists, including 36 Nobel Laureates. In addition to classic and foundational articles of enduring importance, the latest edition of The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics includes entries on topical issues including gender and economics, recent economic crises in the European Union and beyond, health economics and the economics of the Internet. With over 3,000 individual articles, this is the definitive scholarly reference work for a new generation of economists.
The Routledge Handbook of the Philosophy of Economics by Conrad Heilmann; Julian Reiss
ISBN: 9781315739793
Publication Date: 2021-11-29
The most fundamental questions of economics are often philosophical in nature. The Routledge Handbook of Philosophy of Economics is a reference source for the key topics, problems, and debates at the intersection of philosophical and economic inquiry. The Handbook is divided into eight sections: I. Rationality II. Cooperation and Interaction III. Methodology IV. Values V. Causality and Explanation VI. Experimentation and Simulation VII. Evidence VIII. Policy.
Palgrave Dictionary of Emerging Markets and Transition Economics (ebook) by Jens Hölscher (Editor); Horst Tomann (Editor)
ISBN: 9781137371386
Publication Date: 2015-10-21
The Palgrave Dictionary of Emerging Markets and Transition Economies provides a comprehensive A-Z resource to the study of emerging and transition economies.

Oxford handbooks online [electronic resource]
This online collection from Oxford University Press includes nearly 2,000 titles in the area of economics. The Series of 'Handbooks' includes 78 titles. Access via dropdown menu for 'Subject' - 'Social Sciences' - 'Economics' and then filter as desired. ('Handbooks' is a 'Series' filter.)

Encyclopedia of Law and Economics by Jürgen Georg Backhaus (Editor)
ISBN: 9781461477525
Publication Date: 2019-03-08
Law and Economics deals with the economic analysis of legal relations, legal provisions, laws and regulations and is a research field which has a long tradition in economics. The text shows how a given problem is solved in each legal tradition and jurisdiction in the EU. This Encyclopedia provides both a common language and precise definitions in the field.

Library of Congress Call Numbers: Economics

HB: Economic theory, Demography
HB1-846.8 Economic theory
HB848.8 3697 Demography, Population, Vital events
HB 3711-3840 Business cycles, Economic fluctuation

HC: Economic history and conditions

HD: Industries, Land use, Labor
HD28-70 Management
HD72-88 Economic Growth, Development, Planning
HD101-1395.5 Land Use
HD1401-2210 Agriculture
HD2321-4730.9 Industry
HD4801-8943 Labor, Work, Working class
HD9000-9999 Social Industries and trades

Searching for Encyclopedias or Handbooks

Use these sources to locate encyclopedias or handbooks in OSU Libraries.

Credo Reference
This source searches the contents of electronic encyclopedias and handbooks.
OSU Library Catalog
Do a keyword search (handbook or encycloped*) AND communication (or whatever your term is) to find sources.

Borrowing Materials

Borrowing FAQ