Research Guides: Public Affairs Resources: State Documents and Information

Ohio Legislation, Laws, Regulations & Budget Documents

Ohio Capitol Connection [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Contains Ohio Legislation, Legislative Committee agendas and reports Ohio Senate and House calendars and actions Joint Committee on Agency Rule Review Controlling Board Bulletins, Court Decisions and Opinions Current Committee Schedule Department of Education Ohio Enviro-Net Directories and Library of Documents (including election statistics since 1988) and Newsletters.

State legislative history research guides
An index of state legislatures and online legislative history research guides.
State Legislatures, Laws, and Administrative Codes (Regulations)
Arranged by state and includes links to official sites to find state legislative activities, statutes, administrative regulations, and other state websites.
Open States
Find information on legislation and legislators in all 50 states, Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico. Research bills, review voting records, contact elected officials and more.
National Conference of State Legislatures, Research and State Bill Tracking Databases
Topical guide to legislative activities in the states.
Council of State Government
Provides information on the issues that states deal with such as health, transportation, education, public safety and more.
Subject Compilations of State Laws (1960-2017)
This is one of the many resources from Hein Online. Link from the HO list of resources. It offers a "comprehensive source for identifying thousands of articles, books, government publications, loose-leaf titles, court opinions, and websites that compare state laws on hundreds of subjects."

Ohio Capitol Connection [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Contains Ohio Legislation, Legislative Committee agendas and reports Ohio Senate and House calendars and actions Joint Committee on Agency Rule Review Controlling Board Bulletins, Court Decisions and Opinions Current Committee Schedule Department of Education Ohio Enviro-Net Directories and Library of Documents (including election statistics since 1988) and Newsletters.

Municipal Ordinances
Link to city/town ordnances in the United States. Coverage may not be complete.
Almanac of American Politics
Published every other year. Current issue on Reserve shelf at THO circulation desk. Provides analysis of state and congressional district politics with particular focus on the existing governor, senators, and congressional representatives.
FindLaw
Find state legal information
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic)
"Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis ® —including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790."

Follow the Money
Funding candidates in state politics
Stateline
Stateline is web site from Pew Charitable Trusts with current news and analysis on state government activities. A related site is Governing: The States and Localities (http://www.governing.com/) with current and archived news from the publisher of the magazine, Governing available at OSU Libraries (http://library.ohio-state.edu/record=b6692292~S2).
Book of the States (Data Sets)
Offers topical data sets. See also the print edition at OSU Libraries: http://library.ohio-state.edu/record=b1150646~S7

Municipal Year Book 2015 (Online)
Publication Date: Chicago : International City Manager's Association, 1934-present
Include articles and statistics. See print volumes 1934-2014 (JS342.A2 I52, Thompson Library 4th Floor Oversized section)

State and Local Government Finances
US Census data on revenues and expenses for state and local governments and also public schools.
State and Urban Data from Pew Chartible Trust
Pew offers a variety of political, social, economic, and health related data and research related to states and municipalities nationwise.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets This link opens in a new window
Statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.