Research Guides: Engineering (multidisciplinary): Engineering (OSU Libraries)

Web of Science Web of Science searches over 10000 journals from over 45 different languages across the Sciences. Citation and literature from 1900-present. Also includes Derwent Index. (For Science and Engineering literature, limit to "Science Citation Index Expanded" under "More Settings." )
Scopus (contains Compendex content) SciVerse Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature with an emphasis on physical, life and health sciences. (1960-present, including COMPENDEX content)
IEEE Xplore IEEE Xplore provides full text access to technical literature in engineering and technology.
SAE Mobilus The SAE Digital Library "puts thousands of full-text SAE technical documents at your fingertips via the web."
engrXiv engrXiv (Engineering Archive) is dedicated to the dissemination of engineering knowledge quickly and efficiently. engrXiv was launched in beta in July 2016 under the direction of Devin R. Berg, associate professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Stout. The server is operated by Open Engineering Inc., a 501(c)(3) non-profit, which provides financial support for server operations.
Springer Materials (aka Landolt-Bornstein) Springer Materials (aka Landolt-Bornstein)is a resource for Physical & Chemical Data in Materials Science: 250,000 Substances & Material Systems, 3,000 Properties, and 1,200,000 Literature Citations.
SPIE Digital Library The SPIE Digital Library is a collection of papers on optics and photonics from SPIE. Allows for access to more than 200,000 technical papers from SPIE journals and conference proceedings.
American Welding Society Academic Access AWS (American Welding Society) Academic Access is a complete welding reference library in one place. After linking to the resource, click on the blue "log in" button and follow the prompts.
American Ceramic Society Phase Equilibria Diagrams The Phase Equilibria Diagrams Online Database features 23,000 evaluated Phase Diagrams of Ceramic Systems specifically addressing Oxides, Non Oxides, Salts, Carbides, Nitrides, Borides and Compound Semiconductors. You can retrieve all published NIST/ACerS phase equilibria diagrams and commentaries. Results can be manipulated on screen.
ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center Provides content to more than 11,000 binary and ternary diagrams and associated phase data.
Weldasearch Covering metals, plastics and ceramics, Weldasearch aims to be a comprehensive record of abstracts from appropriate world-wide literature published since 1968. Source material includes journals, conference proceedings, books, patents, standards and theses; welding, brazing & soldering, microjoining, diffusion bonding, thermal cutting, surfacing & hardfacing, thermal spraying; aerospace, automotive, electronics, shipbuilding and power generation industries; fabrication of bridges, pipelines, offshore structures & pressure vessels, process plant; robotics, automation, repair & maintenance, inspection, quality control, non-destructive testing, fatigue and fracture, corrosion, metallurgy and materials science, health & safety. Weldasearch abstracts are indexed using the keywords from the International Institute of Welding Thesaurus.
PubMed PubMed, a US government database, comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Engineering Village (Archive only) Engineering Village is a search platform used by OSU to access ARCHIVAL data from Compendex (scientific and technical engineering literature), GEOBASE, (multidisciplinary earth science literature), and Referex (engineering reference material). Users should access the Scopus database for current content.
NIST/TRC Web Thermo Tables This web application provides access to a collection of critically evaluated thermodynamic property data for pure compounds with a primary focus on organics.

American Science and Technology 1664-1819, Historic Database More than 7,000 works about early American Science and Technology 1663-1819, featuring text and data analysis tools, author biographies, and suggested search paths for easy browsing and discovery.

Shown below are some popular science and engineering journals available online through OSU Library subscriptions. For a complete listing of all OSU Library e-journals, visit the OSU Libraries' Online Journals List (or search for print and e-journals in the OSU catalog.) More info on e-journals.

For e-textbooks, please scroll down page.

Shown below is a small sampling of available e-reference books. Some of these eBooks are available through our subscription to Knovel, a collection of science and engineering eBooks,which allows full-text searching of all titles. SpringerLink is an additional valuable resource for eBooks. SpringerLink eBooks will appear in the OSU catalog, but there is a delay between acquisition and appearance in the catalog. Therefore, going directly to the SpringerLink site is advised. The National Academies Press makes all its books freely available.

All OSU eBooks (and print books) are searchable by title through the OSU Library Catalog.

OSU has access to many e-dissertations and theses through Proquest. (For best results, use the Advanced Search.)

Details for finding dissertations and theses from all over the world (including OSU).

About Data:

Data Management Basics

DMP Tool (software for creating data management plans)

Data Repositories (find and/or store data):

Dryad

Cornell Data Storage Finder

PSDS (Physical Sciences Data-Science Service)

Open Access Directory Data Repositories

Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data.org)

Popular engineering e-textbooks

Note: Some e-texts have a restriction on the number of simultaneous users.

Transport Processes and Separation Processes Principles

Elements of Chemical Reaction Engineering

Molecular Biotechnology: principles and applications of recombinant DNA

Open Textbooks
for Engineering

Note: Some e-texts have a restriction on the number of simultaneous users.




	Open Textbooks for Engineering




Open Textbooks for Engineering

Engineering Librarian

Patricia Verdines

Email Me

Contact:

18th Avenue Library - 490E

(614) 292-5557

Graduate Students

General resources for science and engineering graduate students (copyright, scientific writing, etc.) can be found at the General Resources for Graduate Students in the Physical Sciences and Engineering.

(through ILLiad) Request free electronic delivery of journal articles not available through OSU Libraries' subscriptions.

If you are publishing articles, you should have an ORCiD Identifier.

orcid icon More on ORCiD

OSU holds a site license for LabArchives electronic lab notebooks, available to all faculty, staff and students.
Instruction Material for LabArchives

Tips for Scientific Writing (Undergraduates)

Writing about a Scientific Topic

Writing a Bibliography

ACS Style Guide

Using Endnote

Choosing and Using Sources: a Guide to Academic Research

Federal Agency Public Access Plans

The U. of Wisconsin's Ebling Library provides up-to-date, user-friendly information on Federal Agency Public Access Compliance (arising from US OSTP Memo of February 2013 which requires open access publishing of research funded by US Gov agencies).

Can I post my articles on my private webpage??

The SHERPA/RoME O site provides a quick and easy way to determine publisher copyright and self-archiving policies for virtually all journals. Simply search by journal title to see specific rules pertaining to a given journal.




	$Fundamentals of Powder Diffraction and Structural Characterization of Materials$





	Open Textbooks for Engineering