New Redhouse Turkish-English Dictionary - Sir James Redhouse was a 19th Century British Orientalist who served under the Ottoman government and the British Foreign office. He published the first Turkish (Ottoman) -English Dictionary. His original 1834 Dictionary has been the basis for many subsequent English - Ottoman and English - Turkish Dictionaries. OSUL also has a copy of the 1857 edition in print, which is also available through HathiTrust.
The Oxford Turkish Dictionary: English-Turkish coverage includes new English words and senses; a basic scientific vocabulary; geographical and historical items; political, financial, and military vocabulary; the more common Americanisms and American spellings, and some Australian vocabulary; a guide to prefixes and suffixes; and the meanings of abbreviations. The presentation ensures maximum convenience for Turkish speakers, and the notation for English pronunciation is based on the Turkish alphabet.
Dictionary of the Turkic Languages: English, Azerbaijani, Kazakh, Kyrgyz, Tatar, Turkish, Uighur, Uzbek. This multi-language dictionary covers the eight major Turkic languages: Turkish, Azerbaijani, Turkmen, Uzbek, Uighur, Kazakh, Kirgiz and Tatar. 2,000 headwords in English are translated into each of
Çağdaş Öztürkçe sözlüğü: Turkish Language Dictionary.
Qatar Digital Library Archives
The Qatar Digital Library (QDL) is making a vast archive featuring the cultural and
historical heritage of the Gulf and wider region freely available online for the first time.
It includes archives, maps, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs and much
more, complete with contextualised explanatory notes and links, in both English
and Arabic.
This is a Digital archive of Ottoman periodicals, included in the Hakkı Tarık Us
Collection, which is currently kept at the Beyazıt State Library in Istanbul.
When searching for materials in Middle Eastern languages, you can either search using vernacular (Persian, Arabic, Turkish, etc.) or by using romanized characters. Keep in mind that you may not get all possible results by using vernacular and that you must use the Library of Congress transliteration system:
This is the system used in US and UK Libraries.
IJMES Translation and Transliteration Guide
Encyclopedia of Islam/Brill Transliteration Guide
Since the Encyclopedia of islam was designed as an Anglo-French Project, its transliteration was designed to serve both languages and has retained many unique features
What is this searching? The OSU Library Catalog searches for print, electronic and other formats in the OSU Libraries collections. More Search Options >>
What is this searching? The OhioLINK catalog allows searching and requesting of scholarly materials located in the 90+ college and university member libraries around Ohio, plus the State Library of Ohio. More Search Options >>
What is this searching? WorldCat@OSU searches across 7 key databases for books, articles, and more. More Search Options >>
What is this searching? The SearchOhio Catalog allows searching and requesting of popular books, DVDs, CDs and other materials from 20+ public library systems throughout the state of Ohio. More Search Options >>
© The Ohio State University - University Libraries
1858 Neil Avenue Mall, Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: (614) 292-OSUL (6785) | Fax: (614) 292-9101
Request an alternate format of this page | Accessibility | Privacy Policy
For all other requests, click Ask Us.