The Ohio State Universities | University Libraries | Resource Guides

Middle East Studies

Middle East & Islamic Studies Librarian

Profile Photo
Magda El-Sherbini
Contact:
305F Thompson Library, 1858 Neil Ave, Columbus, OH 43210
614-247-7456
Website

Patrick

Profile Photo
Patrick Visel
Contact:
Rm 305 Thompson Library
614-688-8796

Librarian

Profile Photo
Joseph Galron
Contact:
1858 Neil Avenue Mall
305G Thompson Library
Columbus, OH 43210
(614) 292-3362
Website

General Searching

  •  Ohio State University Libraries'              Discover 
  • Find books, periodicals, articles, electronic resources and other items held by Ohio State University Libraries
     
  • OhioLINK Library Catalog
    Search for books, periodicals, electronic resources and other items in OhioLINK 140 member libraries.
  • ARTstor A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data.

  Wikipedia                                                                                  

Reference Works on the Middle East

These are a few of the reference works available for Middle East Studies:

Index Islamicus

Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

Resources for Religious Studies

  • Encyclopaedia Judaica

    The Encyclopaedia Judaica is a 26-volume English-language encyclopedia the Jewish people and of Judaism. It covers diverse areas of the Jewish world and civilization, including Jewish history of all eras, culture, holidays language, and religious teachings. As of 2010, it had been published in two editions accompanied by a few revisions.

  •  The Bar Ilan Responsa Project

    Includes numerous works from the Responsa Literature - rabbinic case-law rulings which represent the historical-sociological milieu of real-life situations, as well as the Bible, the Talmud and their principal commentaries; works about Jewish law and customs; major the codes of Jewish law, such as Maimonides' Mishneh Torah and the Shulchan Aruch with its principal commentaries; midrashim, Zohar, etc…

  • Oxford Bibliographies - Jewish Studies

    This resource offers annotated bibliographies and research guides on the subject of Jewish studies. It addresses the topic in terms of history, religion, philosophy, literature, sociology and political science. Its chronological and geographical range stretches from the Bible to the present and includes communities from the Americas to Western and Eastern Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, South and East Asia, and Africa.

  • Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World

    ​​(EJIW) is the first cohesive and discreet reference work which covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods. The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World Online is regularly updated with newly commissioned articles, illustrations, multimedia, and primary source material. 

  • ATLA religion database ;

    Index to journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.   Ahl al-Kitab, (People of the Book),  is a separate legal category under Islamic Law. 
    While ATLA is Christian focused, it does index many articles concerning religious minorities under Islam.
  • Encyclopedia of Religion

    The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.

  • Religion and Philosophy Collection.

    A comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With over 290 full text journals and coverage of the subject areas, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is a tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.

  • RAMBI - Index of Articles on Jewish Studies                                                                Direct Access to Index of Articles on Jewish Studies (RAMBI)  - Merhav

  •  Index to Jewish periodicals

  • Historical Jewish Press     

  •                    Includes Jewish Newspapers from Arab Countries

  • Jewish Women : A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia

Article search - History of the Jews under Muslim Rule

 

 

 

Photograhs

 

 

Maimonides

 

 

Map

 

 

 

Middle East Transliteration Systems

When searching for materials in Middle Eastern languages, you can either search using vernacular (Persian, Arabic, Turkish, etc.) or by using romanized characters. Keep in mind that you may not get all possible results by using vernacular and that you must use the Library of Congress transliteration system: 

ALA-LA Romanization Tables 

This is the system used in US and UK Libraries.

IJMES Translation and Transliteration Guide

Encyclopedia of Islam/Brill Transliteration Guide

Since the Encyclopedia of islam was designed as an Anglo-French Project, its transliteration was designed to serve both languages and has retained many unique features

Western Language Books on Jews under Islam

Adang, Camilla, and Sabine Schmidtke. Contacts and Controversies between Muslims, Jews and Christians in the Ottoman Empire and Pre-Modern Iran. Würzburg: Ergon in Kommission, 2010. Print.

Bat, Yeʼor. The Dhimmi: Jews and Christians Under Islam. Rutherford [N.J.: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press, 1985. Print.

Cohen, Amnon. Jewish Life Under Islam: Jerusalem in the Sixteenth Century. Cambridge, Mass: Harvard University Press, 1984. Print.

Cohen, Mark R. Under Crescent and Cross: The Jews in the Middle Ages. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2008. Internet resource.

Courbage, Youssef, and Philippe Fargues. Christians and Jews Under Islam. London: Tauris, 1997. Print.

Deshen, Shlomo A, and Walter P. Zenner. Jews Among Muslims: Communities in the Precolonial Middle East. New York: New York University Press, 1996. Print.

Fenton, Paul, and David Littman. Exile in the Maghreb: Jews Under Islam, Sources and Documents, 997-1912. , 2016. Print.

Fischel, Walter J. Jews in the Economic and Political Life of Mediaeval Islam. New York: Ktav Pub. House, 1969. Print.

Frank, Daniel. The Jews of Medieval Islam: Community, Society, and Identity : Proceedings of an International Conference Held by the Institute of Jewish Studies, University College London, 1992. Leiden: E.J. Brill, 1995. Print.

Gallego, María A, C H. Bleaney, and Suárez P. García. Bibliography of Jews in the Islamic World. Leiden: Brill, 2010. Print.

Gilbert, Martin. In Ishmael's House: A History of Jews in Muslim Lands. New Haven, Conn: Yale University Press, 2010. Print.

Goitein, Shelomo D, Shelomo Morag, Issachar Ben-Ami, and Norman A. Stillman. Studies in Judaism and Islam. Jerusalem: Magnes Press, Hebrew University, 1981. Print.

Gubbay, Lucien. Sunlight and Shadow: The Jewish Experience of Islam. New York: Other Press, 2000. Print.

Hoyland, Robert G. The Late Antique World of Early Islam: Muslims Among Christians and Jews in the East Mediterranean. , 2015. Print.

Lassner, Jacob. Jews, Christians, and the Abode of Islam: Modern Scholarship, Medieval Realities. , 2012. Internet resource.

Lavī, Ḥabīb, and Hūshang Ibrāmī. Comprehensive History of the Jews of Iran: The Outset of the Diaspora. Costa Mesa, CA: Mazda Publishers in association with the Cultural Foundation of Habib Levy, 1999. Print.

Lewis, Bernard. The Jews of Islam. Princeton, N.J: Princeton University Press, 1984. Print.

Masters, Bruce A. Christians and Jews in the Ottoman Arab World: The Roots of Sectarianism. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2001. Print.

Menocal, Maria R. The Ornament of the World: How Muslims, Jews, and Christians Created a Culture of Tolerance in Medieval Spain. Boston: Little, Brown and Company, 2002. Print.

Newby, Gordon D. A History of the Jews of Arabia: From Ancient Times to Their Eclipse Under Islam. Columbia, S.C: University of South Carolina Press, 2009. Print.

Simonsohn, Uriel I. A Common Justice: The Legal Allegiances of Christians and Jews Under Early Islam. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2011. Internet resource.

Stillman, Norman A, and Phillip I. Ackerman-Lieberman. Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World. Leiden: Brill, 2010. Print.

Stillman, Norman A. The Jews of Arab Lands: A History and Source Book. Philadelphia: Jewish Publication Society of America, 1979. Print.

Tsadik, Daniel. Between Foreigners and Shi'is: Nineteenth-century Iran and Its Jewish Minority. Stanford, Calif: Stanford University Press, 2007. Print.

Wasserstrom, Steven M. Between Muslim and Jew: The Problem of Symbiosis Under Early Islam. Princeton, N.J: Princeton University Press, 1995. Print.