Middle East Studies

Undocumented Migration

For Arabic 2702 --  Place, Space, and Migration -- Spring 2019.

Prepared by Magda El-Sherbini

General/Articles

A Genre for Justice: Life Writing and Undocumented Migration in Rosalina Rosay’s Journey of Hope. MLA International Bibliography. 2015.

Border Crossings: Undocumented Migration Between Mexico and the United States in Contemporary Young Adult Literature.  Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson). 2013.

Bringing Actors and Conflict into Forced Migration Literature. A Proposed Model of the Decision to Return. RePEc. 2010

Building Bridges Between International Humanitarian and Development Responses to Forced Migration: A Review of Conceptual and Empirical Literature with a Case Study on the Response to the Syria Crisis. SSOAR – Social Science Open Access Repository. 2018.

Creating undocumented EU migrants through welfare: The case of Belgium.  ORBi. 2016.

From protection to persecution: Threat environment and refugee scapegoating.  Humanities International Complete. 2019.

Forced migration and the formation of the prophetic literature. RAMBI. 2012.

Herta Müller’s Atemschaukel (The Hunger Angel) in the Context of Twentieth-Century Forced Migration in East-Central Europe.  MLA International Bibliography. 2018.

In the family home: roots tourism among Greek second generation in Italy.  Hospitality & Tourism Complete. 2018

Measuring negative sense of place: Israeli settlers’ forced migration. Environment Complete. 2018.

Novels and short stories as products of nationalist competition: the case of Dersim 1937–1938 in Turkish politics and literature.  Sociological Collection. 2018.

Possibilities of urban belonging.  Alternative Press Index. 2016.

Refugees, forced migration, and conflict: Introduction to the special issue.  Humanities International Complete. 2019.

Researching Refugee and Forced Migration Studies An Introduction to the Field and the Reference Literature. Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text. 2000.

Social support under siege: An analysis of forced migration among women from the Democratic Republic of Congo. ScienceDirect. 2018.

Telling the Story of Mexican Migration: Chronicle, Literature, and Film from the Post-Gatekeeper Period. Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations. 2013.

The Borderlands of Authoritarianism. Oxford Scholarship Online. 2018.

The Impact of Forced Migration on Mortality: Evidence From German Pension Insurance Records. CINAHL Plus with Full Text. 2019.

The Impact of Unionization and Other Factors on Undocumented Immigrant Settlement Patterns in the US. EconLit. 2014.

The prophets speak on forced migration.  ATLA Religion Database. 2015.

The Refugee and Forced Migration Bildungsroman: Coming of Age and Coming into Form through Fictions of Home and Exile (Narrative Studies). eScholarship. 2017.

Uncertainty in situations of forced displacement: A critical interpretative synthesis of refugee literature. Scopus. 2018.

Undocumented lives : the untold story of Mexican migration. Choice Reviews. 2018

Undocumented migrants in Canada: A scope literature review on health, access to services, and working conditions.  PsycINFO. 2010

 

 

Mediterranean Migration

 

Biometry and phenology of two sibling Phylloscopus warblers on their circum-Mediterranean migrations. BASE. 2015.

Crimes of Peace: Mediterranean Migrations at the World's Deadliest Border, by Maurizio Albahari [reviews].  HeinOnline. 2016.

Documenting the Migration Crisis in the Mediterranean Spaces of Transit, Migration Management and Migrant Agency. CEPS Liberty and Security in Europe No. 94 September 2016. Archive of European Integration. 2016.

Gendering migration across Euro-Mediterranean borders: Syrian refugee women on the way to Europe / Avrupa-Akdeniz bögesindeki sınır geçişlerinde toplumsal cinsiyet: Avrupa yolunda Suriyeli mülteci kadınlar.  Idealonline. 2017.

Least square migration in image domain (LSMi) along with better velocity modeling improves subsalt imaging, offshore Mediterranean, case study. GeoRef In Process. 2018.

Mare nostrum: the political ethics of migration in the Mediterranean. Directory of Open Access Journals. 2019.

Mediterranean Migration: Surge in Rescues. Africa Research Bulletin: Economic, Financial and Technical Series. 2017

Mediterranean migration and the language of crisis: an Italian case study. BASE. 2017.

Migrations by Sea in the Mediterranean: An Improvement of EU Law Is Urgently Needed.  HeinOnline. 2018.

Migration flows in the Mediterranean numbers, politics and multiple crises. Directory of Open Access Journals. 2018.

Migration from the Southern Mediterranean Countries. An Analysis of Some Macro Drivers. JSTOR Journals. 2014.

Mobility Partnerships and Security Subcomplexes in the Mediterranean: The Strategic Role of Migration and the European Union's Foreign and Security Policies towards the MENA Region [article]. HeinOnline. 2017.

Paleoclimate Variability in the Mediterranean and Red Sea Regions during the Last 500,000 Years : Implications for Hominin Migrations. JSTOR Journals. 2013.

Securitization of Search and Rescue at Sea: The Response to Boat Migration in the Mediterranean and Offshore Australia. HeinOnline. 2018.

The anti-policy of European anti-smuggling as a site of contestation in the Mediterranean migration ‘crisis’. Scopus. 2018.

The Future of Euro-Mediterranean Migration and Partnership. A Perspective from the Southern Mediterranean. BASE. 2018.

The International Legal Obligation to Rescue during Mass Migration at Sea: Navigating the Sovereign and Commercial Dimensions of a Mediterranean Crisis. HeinOnline. 2015.

The Mediterranean Migration Crisis: A Clash of the Titans' Obligations.  HeinOnline. 2015.

West African Migration to Mediterranean Countries and Agricultural Work.  BASE. 2018.

 

E-Books

Ageing, lifestyles and economic crises : the new people of the Mediterranean / edited by Thierry Blöss ; in Collaboration with Isabelle Blöss-Widmer, Elena Ambrosetti, Michèle Pagès and Sébastien Oliveau. Abingdon, Oxon ;New York, NY : Routledge, 2018.

Border Lampedusa : subjectivity, visibility and memory in stories of sea and land / Gabriele Proglio, Laura Odasso, editors. Cham, Switzerland : Palgrave Macmillan, [2018]

Borders, fences and walls : state of insecurity? / edited by Elisabeth Vallet. New York, NY : Routledge (Publisher), 2016.

Borderscaping : imaginations and practices of border making / edited by Chiara Brambilla, Jussi Laine, James W. Scott, Gianluca Bocchi. New York, NY : Routledge (Publisher), 2016.

Challenging the prevailing paradigm of displacement and resettlement : risks, impoverishment, legacies, solutions / edited by Michael M. Cernea and Julie K. Maldonado. Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2018.

Characteristics of temporary migration in European-Asian transnational social spaces / Pirkko Pitkänen, Mari Korpela, Mustafa Aksakal, Kerstin Schmidt, editors.
Cham : Springer, 2018.

Citizen activism and Mediterranean identity : beyond Eurocentrism / Gianluca Solera. Cham, Switzerland : Palgrave Macmillan, 2017.

Climate refugees [electronic resource] : beyond the legal impasse? / edited by Simon Behrman and Avidan Kent. London : Routledge, 2018.

Demography of refugee and forced migration / Graeme Hugo, Mohammad Jalal Abbasi-Shavazi, Ellen Percy Kraly, editors. Cham, Switzerland : Springer, [2018]

Driven from home [electronic resource] : protecting the rights of forced migrants / David Hollenbach, editor. Washington, D.C. : Georgetown University Press, c2010. (Baltimore, Md. : Project MUSE, 2014)
Environmental change and human security in Africa and the Middle East [electronic resource] / Mohamed Behnassi, Katriona McGlade, editors. Cham : Springer, 2017
EU external relations and systems of governance [electronic resource] : the CFSP, Euro-Mediterranean partnership and migration / Paul James Cardwell. London ; New York : Routledge, c2009.

Ex-centric migrations [electronic resource] : Europe and the Maghreb in Mediterraneancinema, literature, and music / Hakim Abderrezak. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 2016. (Baltimore, Md. : Project MUSE, 2015)

Forced migration : current issues and debates / edited by Alice Bloch and Giorgia Donà. Abingdon, Oxon : Routledge, 2019.
Forced migration and social trauma : interdisciplinary perspectives from psychoanalysis, psychology, sociology and politics / edited by Andreas Hamburger, Camellia Hancheva, Saime Ozcurumez, Carmen Scher, Biljana Stanković, Slavica Tutnjević. Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, an imprint of the Taylor & Francis Group, 2019.
Fortress Europe? : challenges and failures of migration and asylum policies / Annette Jünemann, Nocolas Fromm, Nikolas Scherer (eds.). Wiesbaden : Springer VS, [2017].

Gender and migration : transnational and intersectional prospects / Anna Amelina and Helma Lutz. London : Routledge, 2018.

Identity and migration in Europe : multidisciplinary perspectives / MariaCaterina La Barbera, editor. Cham : Springer, 2015.

Impossible refuge : the control and constraint of refugee futures / Georgina Ramsay. New York : Routledge, 2018
International political theory and the refugee problem / Natasha Saunders. New York, NY : Routledge, 2018.

Irregular immigration in Southern Europe : actors, dynamics and governance / Maurizio Ambrosini. Cham : Palgrave Macmillan, 2018.

Journeys of undocumented Honduran migrants to the United States / Jana Sládková.
El Paso [Tex.] : LFB Scholarly Pub., 2010.

Mobile commons, migrant digitalities and the right to the city / Nicos Trimikliniotis, Dimitris Parsanoglou and Vassilis S. Tsianos. Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire ; New York, NY : Palgrave Macmillan, 2015.
Migration and migrant identities in the Near East from antiquity to the Middle Ages / edited by Justin Yoo, Andrea Zerbini and Caroline Barron. Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2019.

Migration policymaking in Europe [electronic resource] : the dynamics of actors and contexts in past and present / edited by Giovanna Zincone, Rinus Penninx and Maren Borkert. Amsterdam : Amsterdam University Press, 2011.

Migration, temporality, and capitalism : entangled mobilities across global spaces / Pauline Gardiner Barber, Winnie Lem, editors. Cham : Palgrave Macmillan, [2018]

Moving for prosperity : global migration and labor markets. Washington, DC : World Bank, [2018]

North Africa and the making of Europe : governance, institutions and culture / edited by Muriam Haleh Davis and Thomas Serres. London ; New York : Bloomsbury Academic, an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing Plc, 2018.
Parallel lives revisited : Mediterranean guest workers and their families at work in the neighbourhood, 1960-1980 / Jozefien De Bock. New York : Berghahn Books, 2018

Refugees, citizenship and belonging in South Asia : contested terrains / Nasreen Chowdhory. Singapore : Springer, [2018].

Rethinking international protection : the sovereign, the state, the refugee / Raffaela Puggioni. London : Palgrave Macmillan, 2016.

Rethinking Irregular Migration [electronic resource] : Causes, Course, Consequences and Corrective Measures / Seedy Drammeh. Baltimore, Maryland : Project Muse, 2018 (Baltimore, Md. : Project MUSE, 2015)

Sea of the caliphs : the Mediterranean in the medieval Islamic world / Christophe Picard ; translated by Nicholas Elliott. Cambridge, Massachusetts : The Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, [2018]

Seasonal workers in Mediterranean agriculture : the social costs of eating fresh / edited by Jörg Gertel and Sarah Ruth Sippel. London : Earthscan from Routledge, 2014.
Solidarity mobilizations in the 'refugee crisis' : contentious moves / Donatella della Porta, editor. Cham, Switzerland : Palgrave Macmillan, [2018]

The genesis of international mass migration : the British case, 1750-1900 / Eric Richards. Manchester : Manchester University Press, [2018].

The transnational Middle East : people, places, borders / edited by Leïla Vignal. London ; New York, NY : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2017

The Tunis crusade of 1270 : a mediterranean history / by Michael Lower. Corby : Oxford University Press, 2018.

War and population displacement : lessons of history / edited by Fernando Puell de la Villa and David García Hernán. Eastbourne : Sussex Academic Press, [2018]

We are displaced : my journey and stories from refugee girls around the world / Malala Yousafzai with Liz Welch. New York : Little, Brown and Company, 2019