Research Guides: History Resources: UN, EU, IGOs, Treaties

UN and EU Documents, IGOs; International Treaties

OSU Libraries owns thousands of UN documents on microfiche (1982-present) arranged by the UN document number and many in print appearing the library catalog. The microfiche are located in Thompson Library, Room 215 (2nd Floor). The OSU Law Library also owns a large collection of UN documents. The databases below will lead to information, full documents or citations to documents with the document number. UN documents, 1954-1981, are also available.

UN Official Document System
ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents. The database also includes scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993, including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records.
Browse documents at UN documents web page
Covers the General Assembly, Security Council and producers
United Nations Voting Records database
Includes the General Assembly and the Security Council
Speeches at the United Nations
Find citations and links to text of speeches made in the General Assembly (38th session,1983-present), the Security Council (38th year, 1983-), the Economic and Social Council (1983-present) and the Trusteeship Council (15th special session,1982-present).
Human Development Reports
Statistics on regions and countries
Population Information Network
Data on population and development indicators

United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new window
The United Nations Treaty Collection contains the following databases: Status of Multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS) Texts of Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties Photographs of Signature.

Yearbook of the United Nations
Online, full text access to UN yearbooks containing key resolutions and activities of the organizations
Related U.N. Agencies

Check the library catalog for EU documents in the collection

European Union Home Page
European Union Documents
European Sources Online
"Find documents with full text links and reference to journal articles "on European topics from ...primary and official sources of information plus commentary, analysis, summaries and news from a wide range of European perspectives."
Archive of European Union Integration
Selected conference papers, articles, EU documents
European Union Law, Regulations, Official Journal
Europaedia
Provides information about EU institutions and policies based on the book series "Access to
European Union" located at the Law Library

United States

US Multilateral Diplomacy, 19th-20th centuries
US Bilateral Diplomacy, 18th-20th centuries
US Other Treaties (look up "treaties" in subject list)
Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America, 1776-1949.
Also in print at JX236 1968. See also Treaty Series, JX235.9A3 in Depository (TIAS 555-994)
United States Treaties and other International Agreements
(1950-1983/84; TIAS 2010-11059) Also in print at JX236 1968 in Depository. See also Treaty Series, JX235.9A3 in Depository (TIAS 555-994).
Additional TIAS Treaties
1984-- (TIAS 11060- )
Also in print at JX235.9 .A32 in Depository and THO Bound Journals (TIAS 12735-12854 only).
US Treaties in Force and Pending

Other Treaty Series

United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new window
The United Nations Treaty Collection contains the following databases: Status of Multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS) Texts of Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties Photographs of Signature.

Peace Agreements Digital Collection
U.S. Institute of Peace; full text of peace related treaties
UK Treaties Online
Find full text and/or references to treaties of the United Kingdom since 1835. Full text is available for treaties published in "Treaty Series" of Command Papers. For information on finding full text of treaties that do not have pdf links in the database, consult Guide to UK Treaty Series (https://www.gov.uk/uk-treaties)

The following is from the Library of Congress web site: http://www.loc.gov/rr/news/io.html