Research Guides: City and Regional Planning: City & Regional Databases

Databases

Academic Search Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window Indexes journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions, contains over 600,000 entries surveying over 2,500 American and international journals, including many that are peer reviewed. Publications from professional associations and regional periodicals are also included.

Cities and Buildings Database Begun in 1995, the collection was conceived as a multi-disciplinary resource for students, faculty, and others in the academic community. It has grown steadily since then, with contributions from a wide range of scholars, and contains images ranging from New York to Central Asia, from African villages, to the Parc de la Villette, and conceptual sketches and models of Frank Gehry's Experience Music Project. These have all been scanned from original slides or drawn from documents in the public domain. They are freely available to anyone with access to the Web for use in the classroom, student study, or for individual research purposes.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is an online reference library that provides access to over 500 highly-regarded, scholarly reference books for all subject areas. Credo Reference also has the tools to find sources for further research and access thousands of images, charts, graphs and more.

David Rumsey Map Collection The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection focuses on 18th and 19th century North and South American cartographic materials. The collection includes atlases, globes, school geographies, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript maps. The online selection is an expanding cross section of images designed to highlight the depth and breadth of the collection. The digital images and associated descriptive data are copyright Cartography Associates.
Digital Library: Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format. The cultural institutions participating in DPLA represent the richness and diversity of America itself, from the smallest local history museum to our nation’s largest cultural institutions.

Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window Provides full-text online access to journals purchased by OhioLINK for member libraries. The journals are listed alphabetically and by subject categories. A search interface is provided for searching articles. Check issue receipts in the EJC Check In and Claiming System.

Engineering Village Engineering Village is a cross searchable platform for the engineering community. From a single interface Engineering Village can search for content from Compendex, GeoBase and Referex.

Geospatial Data
by Joshua Sadvari Last Updated Jun 26, 2024 1067 views this year

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar indexes items Google considers scholarly, including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings, and technical reports. The OSU Libraries subscribes to the electronic version of many of these materials and may own the print copy. See Make Google Scholar Work For You to set the Google Scholar Preferences to ensure you find materials available free to you from the OSU Libraries and OhioLINK.

Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are among the largest and most heavily used in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. Since 2000, documentation from the Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) has been added to the holdings. The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes. Administered since 1933 through cooperative agreements with the National Park Service, the Library of Congress, and the private sector, ongoing programs of the National Park Service have recorded America's built environment in multiformat surveys comprising more than 556,900 measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more than 38,600 historic structures and sites dating from Pre-Columbian times to the twentieth century. This online presentation of the HABS/HAER/HALS collections includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, written history pages, and supplemental materials.
IHGIS The International Historical Geographic Information System (IPUMS IHGIS) provides data tables from population and housing censuses as well as agricultural censuses from around the world, along with corresponding GIS boundary files. Data from diverse published documents are provided in a standardized, ready-to-use structure with thorough, consistently formatted metadata.

International Newsstand This link opens in a new window International Newsstand provides information from hundreds of the world's top newspapers. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly, providing access to top news stories as well as detailed information on sports, business, and the arts around the world. Citations and abstracts are available for all articles, and full text for many.

IPUMS IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.

JSTOR [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from 3 and 5 years. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Knovel Library [Full Text] This link opens in a new window The collection includes over 2,300 reference books on a variety of engineering and technical subjects from more than 40 publishers and professional societies. These electronic books are full text searchable as a collection or within one of the 19 subject areas. Content is displayed in PDF format. Some volumes contain interactive graphs and tables.

MLP IPUMS Multigenerational Longitudinal Panel (MLP) has released a set of crosswalks to link individual records in full count historical census data between adjacent censuses from 1900 to 1940. This release includes more than 165 million linked records, and future releases will build on this work and extend chronological depth.

Newspaper Source [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window Provides full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times (for a total of 194 full text newspapers and other sources).

New York Public Library Digital Collections Explore 835,649 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Pacific Coast Architecture Database A database of buildings, designers, landscape architects, interior designers, engineers, urban planners, developers, and building contractors in the Pacific Northwest.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers [Full Text] This link opens in a new window This database offers full text including images for several prominent newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries, together in a searchable interface. Coverage includes: The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)Chicago Defender (1910-1975)Chicago Tribune (1849-1987)Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)Los Angeles Times (1881-1987)New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)The New York Times (1851-2007) with Index (1851-1993)Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)The Times of India (1838-2001)The Washington Post (1877-1994)Wall Street Journal (1889-1995)

Safari Textbooks Safari Books Online provides electronic books in computer science, information technology, business, and related fields from O'Reilly, Pearson, and other IT and business publishers
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track analyze and visualize research. Tools to sort, refine and quickly identify results help researchers focus on the outcome of their work.
ULI development case studies This link opens in a new window Access to more than 450 detailed case studies of completed projects ranging from low-income housing to mixed-use downtown developments to commercial and industrial projects from 1981 to the present. The case studies provide photographs and site plans, information on costs and rents, innovative features and strategies of the project, and an explanation of the entire development process.
Web of Science (All Databases search) This link opens in a new window Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) is a cross-searchable interface for numerous Thompson Reuters databases including: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Derwent Innovations Index, and Journal Citation Reports.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to citation indexes which can be searched individually or as one file. Arts & Humanities Citation Index indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Science Citation Index Expanded indexes 5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines and contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts for approximately 70 percent of the articles in the database. The Social Sciences Citation Index indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Book Citation Indexes- Science and Social Sciences & Humanties indexes over 30,000 editorially selected books in the sciences, social sciences and humanities, with 10,000 new books added each year. It contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts for approximately 60 per cent of the articles in the database.