Chinese Studies Resources

The project for the Scripta Sinica database began in 1984. The first aim of this project was to digitize all documents essential to research in traditional Sinology. Secondly, a full-text database was established for academic research. Until present, Scripta Sinica is the largest Chinese full text database to encompass an enormous breadth of historical materials of this scale.
More than 814titles （new titles）and 468,930,000 characters of materials pertaining to the traditional Chinese classics have been included in the database and have been categorized with meticulous care. The Scripta Sinica database contains almost all of the important Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history. In the future, we will continue with the digitalization of more historical materials, and add new features to the system. We hope to provide scholars, students, and the general public with an excellent full-text database and search engine for the study of Chinese history and culture.

Contains the full-text of the Wenyuange edition of Sikuquanshu. Over 3,400 types fo classical Chinese texts are organized into jing, shi, zi, ji, making up a total of 8 hundred million characters. Users can search by keywords, authors and publication titles or broad categories. Search results can be displayed in the edited version of in the original image version. Includes Si ku da ci dian, Zhonghua gu Han yu zi dian, Si ku suo you zi dian and Gu jin ji nian huan suan, etc… Printing of documents is supported .
Please contact the Chinese Studies Librarian or the Program Assistant for EAS concerning details on off-campus access