LibGuides: Public Health: Veterinary Public Health

Suggested Resources

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
The National Agricultural Library provides informational resources to land-grant colleges and universities, and other state-supported colleges and universities with academic programs relating to agriculture. Thus, the agricultural disciplines covered in AGRICOLA are quite extensive. Disciplines covered include food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology, earth and environmental sciences and more.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
CAB Abstracts gives researchers access to over 8.9 million records from 1973 onwards in the areas of agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science, nutrition, and other life sciences.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Global Health (available as part of the CABI Database through Web of Science) is a bibliographic database which focuses on research literature in public health and medical health sciences. Derived from over 7,000 journals, reports, books and conferences, Global Health contains over 2.5* million scientific records from 1973 to the present. Publications from over 100 countries in 50 languages are abstracted, and all relevant non-English-language papers are translated to give access to research not available through any other database. Proceedings, patents, thesis papers, electronic publications and relevant but difficult-to-find literature sources are also part of this database.
NACCHO (National Association of County and City Health Officials) Practices Database and Toolbox This link opens in a new window
The Model Practices Program honors and recognizes local public health practice and promotes the sharing of these outstanding practices among local health departments. You may access these findings and past awards through this database.
NIOSHTIC-2 (National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health NIOSH) This link opens in a new window
Published through the CDC, this bibliographic database of occupational safety and health publication includes over 62,000 citations.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provided by the US National Library of Medicine, PubMed is a freely available database containing more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and online books.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources in the medical, scientific, technical, social sciences, and arts and humanities fields. Scopus covers nearly 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers, and more half of its content comes from outside the U.S. The database provides powerful citation analysis tools for articles, authors, institutions, and journal metrics.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Access the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and more through the Web of Science Core Collection. Covers multidisciplinary subjects, including the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, and more than 12,000 journals. Also includes citations to conference proceedings.

Animal Sciences

Animal Science Journal
Publishes original articles and review articles in all fields of animal and poultry science: genetics and breeding, genetic engineering, reproduction, embryo manipulation, nutrition, feeds and feeding, physiology, anatomy, environment and behavior, animal products (milk, meat, eggs and their by-products) and their processing, and livestock economics.
Animal Reproduction Science
Publishes scientific papers dealing with the study of reproduction of all animals
Avian Diseases
Features articles devoted to the dissemination of information on domestic, pet, and wild birds.
Canine Genetics and Epidemiology
Canine Genetics and Epidemiology is a peer-reviewed, open access journal addressing genetic, genomic and epidemiological research in both domestic and wild canids, relating to breed and species diversity, and canine evolution.
Journal of Wildlife Diseases
Features the results of original research and observations dealing with all aspects of infectious, parasitic, toxic, nutritional. physiologic, developmental and neoplastic diseases.

Parasitology

Parasitology
Publishes papers on all aspects of pure and applied parasitology, including biochemical, immunological, physiological, and ecological topics, with emphasis on parasites and their control.
Systematic Parasitology
Publishes original papers on the systematics, taxonomy and nomenclature of parasites, including nematodes, arthropods, and other parasitic groups.
Veterinary Parasitology
Publishes papers dealing with all aspects of disease prevention, pathology, treatment, epidemiology, and control of parasites in all animals.

Preventive Medicine

American Journal of Preventive Medicine
Contains original articles and correspondence on all aspects of practice, teaching, and research in preventive medicine.
Environmental Health and Preventive Medicine
Devoted to the publication of definitive studies including original papers, short communications and review articles, on human health sciences related to biological, physical, chemical, medical, psychosocial, and other various environmental factors.
Foodborne pathogens and disease
Publishes articles and short communications on research and diseases caused by foodborne pathogen.
Journal of Food Protection
Publishes papers on topics in food science, related to food safety.
Journal of Veterinary Diagnostic Investigation
Covers molecular biology, immunology, microbiology, clinical pathology, parasitology, anatomical pathology, toxicology, computer science and public health.
Preventive Veterinary Medicine
Aims to disseminate, on a worldwide basis, information and reports of significance in the field of animal (mammalian, aquatic and avian) health programs and preventive veterinary medicine.

Veterinary

American Journal of Veterinary Research
Provides reports of basic research in veterinary medicine and associated biological sciences.
Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association
Journal of Veterinary Medicine
Includes papers describing educational programs in veterinary educational institutions throughout the world.
Journal of Veterinary Science
An international peer-reviewed open-access journal dedicated to publish evidence- based, scientific research articles from various disciplines of the veterinary medical sciences.
Veterinary Pathology
Features original observations on the pathology of animals, both from natural and experimentally-induced diseases.

Zoonoses

Emerging Infectious Diseases
Reports on emerging infectious diseases worldwide, including reviews and analyses, epidemiologic and laboratory issues, and prevention strategies.
Emerging Microbes and Infections
Aims to publish a wide range of scientific reports related to emerging infectious diseases.
Virology
Features the results of basic research in all branches of virology, including the viruses of vertebrates and invertebrates, plants, bacteria, and yeast and fungi.

Other

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report is published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The journal is the agency’s primary source of scientific publication for public health information and recommendations.
Revue scientifique et technique (International Office of Epizootics)
Promotes experimental or other research work on diagnosis and control of contagious diseases of livestock. Also includes documents of importance to Chief Veterinary Officers of 155 member countries and to the world medical and veterinary scientific communities.
PeerJ
Publishes research articles in the biological and medical sciences.
PLoS One
Covers primary research from all disciplines within science and medicine.

Advances in Microbiology, Infectious Diseases and Public Health by Gianfranco Donelli
Publication Date: 2017-06-26
This book series focuses on current progress in the broad field of medical microbiology, and covers both basic and applied topics related to the study of microbes, their interactions with human and animals, and emerging issues relevant for public health. Original research and review articles present and discuss multidisciplinary findings and developments on various aspects of microbiology, infectious diseases, and their diagnosis, treatment and prevention.
Integrated Food Safety and Veterinary Public Health by S. Buncic
Publication Date: 2006-05-30
The importance of food safety for human health has been widely recognized. The safety of foods of animal origin is particularly relevant because the large majority of foodborne diseases come from poultry, eggs, meat, milk and dairy products and fish. This textbook covers an integrated approach to this type of food production, hygiene and safety and shows how it results in concurrent benefits to animal well being, human health, protection of the environment and socioeconomics.
Mosquito-Borne Diseases by Giovanni Benelli (Editor); Heinz Mehlhorn (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018-11-15
This book gathers contributions by 39 international specialists on well-known but neglected mosquito-borne diseases. The authors highlight pathogens that are increasingly being spread worldwide by various mosquito species, a situation worsened further by migration and tourism.
Food Safety in the 21st Century by Puja Dudeja (Editor); Rajul K. Gupta (Editor); Amarjeet Singh Minhas (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-10-21
Food Safety in the 21st Century: Public Health Perspective is an important reference for anyone currently working in the food industry or those entering the industry. It provides realistic, practical, and very usable information about key aspects of food safety, while also systematically approaching the matter of foodborne illness by addressing the intricacies of both prevention and control.
One Health by Jakob Zinsstag; Esther Schelling; Maxine Whittaker; Marcel Tanner; David Waltner-Toews; C.A.B. International Staff (Contribution by); David H. M. Cumming (Contribution by); Susan C. Welburn (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2015-04-09
The One Health concept of combined veterinary and human health continues to gain momentum, but the supporting literature is sparse. In this book, the origins of the concept are examined and practical content on methodological tools, data gathering, monitoring techniques, study designs, and mathematical models is included.
One Health: the Human-Animal-Environment Interfaces in Emerging Infectious Diseases by John S. Mackenzie (Editor); Martyn Jeggo (Editor); Peter S. Daszak (Editor); Juergen A. Richt (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013-12-09
One Health is an emerging concept that aims to bring together human, animal, and environmental health. Achieving harmonized approaches for disease detection and prevention is difficult because traditional boundaries of medical and veterinary practice must be crossed.
Human-Animal Medicine by Peter M. Rabinowitz; Lisa A. Conti
Publication Date: 2009-12-16
Human-Animal Medicine is an innovative reference exploring the unprecedented convergence of human, animal, and environmental health, triggering global pandemics and requiring new clinical paradigms.
Handbook of Zoonoses by Joann Colville; David Berryhill
Publication Date: 2007-05-23
This essential, authoritative handbook provides clear, accurate coverage of zoonoses - diseases that can spread from animals to humans. The consistent format helps you quickly locate key information, such as how each disease affects the host, how it is spread, how it is treated, and necessary safety precautions. It also discusses the importance of educating animal owners about the public health implications of zoonoses and how to prevent them from spreading.
Zoonoses- Infections Affecting Humans and Animals by Andreas Sing (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014-12-16
The book will cover the most important zoonoses with a public health impact and debate actual developments in this field from a One Health perspective. The outline of the book follows a "setting" approach, i.e. special settings of zoonoses with a public health aspect, rather than presenting a simple textbook of an encyclopedic character.

American Veterinary Medical Association
The AVMA is a not-for-profit association representing more than 93,000 veterinarians working in private and corporate practice, government, industry, academia, and uniformed services.
FDA: Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
CFSAN, in conjunction with the Agency's field staff, is responsible for promoting and protecting the public's health by ensuring that the nation's food supply is safe, sanitary, wholesome, and honestly labeled, and that cosmetic products are safe and properly labeled.
CDC Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
As the nation’s health protection agency, CDC protects people from health threats.
CDC: National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH)
The NCEH plans, directs, and coordinates a program to protect the American people from environmental hazards
CDC: National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
The NIOSH develop new knowledge in the field of occupational safety and health and to transfer that knowledge into practice.
CDC: The National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases (NCEZID)
The National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases (NCEZID) works to protect people at home and around the world from emerging and zoonotic infections
FDA: Center for Veterinary Medicine
The mission statement for FDA’s Center for Veterinary Medicine (CVM) reads: “Protecting Human and Animal Health.” The center approves animal drugs for companion (pet) animals, such as dogs, cats, and horses; and for food-producing animals, such as cattle, pigs, and chickens.
Occupational Safety and Health Administration
Assures a safe work environment for working men and women by promoting healthy standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance.
United States Department of Agriculture
The USDA oversees the American farming industry.
United States Department of Homeland Security
The Department of Homeland Security protects the nation from the many threats we face.
US HHS Food and Drug Association
The Food and Drug Administration is responsible for protecting the public health by ensuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, and medical devices.
US Public Health Service
The US Public Health Service Corps responds to health needs through leadership and excellence in public health practices and advancement of public health science.
USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service protects and promotes U.S. agricultural health, regulating genetically engineered organisms, administering the Animal Welfare Act and carrying out wildlife damage management activities.
USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service
USDA FSIS protects the public’s health by ensuring the safety of meat, poultry, and processed egg products.
World Health Organization (WHO)
The World Health Organization promotes better health for the people of the world. Their website contains useful information by countries, issues, publications, and other categories.

Ohio State nav bar

Public Health

Librarian

Suggested Resources

Animal Sciences

Parasitology

Preventive Medicine

Veterinary

Zoonoses

Other