Research Guides: Modern Greek Studies: Resources

Subject Specialist for East European and Slavic Studies, Religious Studies, History of Christianity and Modern Greek

Miroljub Ruzic

Email Me

Contact:

321A Thompson Library
1858 Neil Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210

(614) 292-8959

Subjects: Classics, International & Area Studies, Languages, Literature

An Introduction to Modern Greek Literature

An Introduction to Modern Greek Literature by Roderick Beaton
ISBN: 0198159749
Publication Date: 1999-05-13
This is a fully revised edition of Roger Beaton's 1994 introduction to the poetry and fiction published in Greece since national independence in 1821 to the present day. No knowledge of Greek is assumed and all quotations are given in both Greek and English.

Encyclopedia of modern Greek literature

Encyclopedia of Modern Greek Literature by Bruce Merry
ISBN: 0313308136
Publication Date: 2004-05-30
This reference provides more than 800 alphabetically arranged entries on important authors, texts, genres, themes, and topics in Greek literature from the Byzantine period to the present. Brief, readable entries provide basic information on the history and development of modern Greek literature and language. Each entry is thoroughly cross-referenced, and most conclude with a bibliography of further information resources. This reference provides more than 800 alphabetically arranged entries on important authors, texts, genres, themes, and topics in Greek literature from the Byzantine period to the present. The encyclopedia also offers a useful chronology of modern Greek literature, a select bibliography of important general works, and a detailed subject index.

Resources

Dictionary of Standard Modern Greek
Λεξικό της κοινής νεοελληνικής
A modern and comprehensive definitional, orthographic, and etymological dictionary of Modern Greek
ANEMI: Digital Library of Modern Greek Studies
Significant collection of digitized books related to early modern Greece
AMBROSIA
Union catalog of the Blegen and Gennadius Libraries of the American School of Classical Studies at Athens and the Libraries of the British School at Athens
Greek Bibliography of the 19th century
Ελληνική βιβλιογραφία του 19ου αιώνα
Extensive bibliography of 19th century Greek imprints hosted by the Benaki Museum and indicating the holdings of Greek and international libraries
Special Libraries in Greece
Ειδικές Βιβλιοθήκες στην Ελλάδα
ZEPHYR
Union catalog of Greek university libraries
Open Archives - Αναζήτηση σε ελληνικό ψηφιακό περιεχόμενο επιστήμης και πολιτισμού
Single search interface to over 40 Greek digital collections
ELIA: Digital Collections
Ελληνικό Λογοτεχνικό και Ιστορικό Αρχείο: Ψηφιοποιημένες συλλογές
EIE/EKT: Databases
Εθνικό 'Ίδρυμα Ερευνών / Εθνικό Κέντρο Τεκμηρίωσης
Variety of digital resources developed by the National Documentation Center (EKT) of the National Research Institute (EIE)
Aristotle University of Thessaloniki : Digital material
Extensive list of Greek digitization initiatives maintained by the University library
KOSMOPOLIS
Κοσμόπολις
Digitized versions of 20 Greek literary periodicals covering the years 1834-1930
PLEIAS
Πλειάς
Continuation of Κοσμόπολις; digitized versions of 32 additional Greek periodicals from the 19th and 20th centuries
Journal of Modern Greek Studies
The only scholarly periodical to focus exclusively on modern Greece. The Journal publishes critical analyses of Greek social, cultural, and political affairs, covering the period from the late Byzantine Empire to the present
Byzantine and modern Greek studies
Enimerosis
Links to current Greek news sources
National Library of Greece
Εθνική Βιβλιοθήκη της Ελλάδος
Digitized versions of 7 Greek newspapers covering the years 1883-1983
Modern Greek
Tools, Bibliographies, Studies, Teaching - Education, Greek as a Second/Foreign Language, Guides and Sources
Modern Greek Studies Association
Center for Neo-Hellenic studies
Portal for the Greek language
Articles in Greek Magazines Index

Humanities International Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database which includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citation indexes which can be searched individually or as one file.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
- Science Citation Index Expanded indexes 5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines and contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts for approximately 70 percent of the articles in the database.
- The Social Sciences Citation Index indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
- Book Citation Indexes- Science and Social Sciences & Humanties indexes over 30,000 editorially selected books in the sciences, social sciences and humanities, with 10,000 new books added each year. It contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts for approximately 60 per cent of the articles in the database.

The journal of Hellenic studies
The Society for the Promotion of Hellenic Studies

FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
FRANCIS covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences, and economics. FRANCIS is strong in religion, the history of art, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
The Films on Demand collections provide streaming video access to more than 8,000 videos and 90,000 segments for topics including Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics and Health & Medicine.

Research Consultation

I'm available for a research consultation for your research needs

ruzic.2@osu.edu

(614) 292-8959

Greek Transliteration Table

Greek Transliteration Table

Greece

Perseus Search Tools

Perseus Search Tools

Citation Guides and Examples

Citation Guides and Examples
Whenever you use sources such as books, journals, or Web sites in your research papers you must give credit to the original author by properly citing the sources. Citations also help your reader find the sources again. There are a number of different citation styles, depending on the discipline in which you are working. The following links provide guidelines to using a variety of citation styles

Credo Reference

Credo Reference
Online Reference Content

Europe in modern Greek history

Europe in Modern Greek History by Kevin Featherstone (Editor)
ISBN: 9781849042468
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
Europe", "Europeanness" and "European" have been important themes in the history of modern Greece, from the establishment of the new state in 1832 to the sovereign debt crisis of 2010. "Europe" has served as key reference points in questions of identity, progress, capability, legitimation and strategic interest. Indeed, few nations have experienced "Europe" with such intensity, reacted with so much angst, and witnessed effects of such consequence. Now, in the context of two financial bail- outs and the imposition of tough austerity measures, it is the "euro-zone" that is shaking the Greek economy, state and society to its roots. This turmoil needs to be understood in the context of a sequence of questions and doubts that encompass arts and politics, social integration and economic development. This volume addresses the complexity of Greece's relationship with "Europe" - examining its manifestations in culture, politics, society, foreign policy and the economy. It deepensour knowledge not only of how modern Greece has reached this point, but also of what Europe is, what it represents, how it may impact domestically, and why it may be viewed differently."