Research Guides: MBA Research Guide: Industry Resources

Industry Reports

IBISWorld Industry Reports
IBISWorld Industry Reports provides immediate access to vital information on industries in the United States, China, and at the global level. US industries are covered at the 5-digit level of the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), and additionally at the sub-industry level.
NetAdvantage
Provides access to Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys, which analyze industry activity in broad categories for the U.S.
BMI Research
Industry information (here called Services) organized by geographic location and country.
BCC Research
Contains detailed market research reports for several sectors, including biotechnology, engineering, healthcare, materials science, pharmaceuticals, and more.
Hoover's Online
This database can be used for company research as well, but it also provides access to a range of industry and market research reports.
EMIS Intelligence
Industry analysis for countries regarded as emerging markets.
Mergent WebReports
An online database that allows you to access a vast archive of corporate and industry related documents. Covers over 100 countries and industries.
Sports Business Research Network [Selected Articles in Full Text]
Includes international sporting goods equipment market reports for 35 countries, export and import statistics, trade magazine and newsletter pages dealing with finance, licensing, fashion, women's and youth sports, marketing, sponsorship, research reports, sports broadcasting, ratings and more.
IBISWorld Procurement
IBISWorld Procurement: category market research reports that analyze price trends on hundreds of products and services.

Industry Classification

Some industry resources are organized or indexed by an industry classification number. It can be helpful to note this number when using some of the resources listed on the Industry Research guide to browse more effectively for relevant information.

North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Standard Industry Classification (SIC)
SIC is a system for classifying industries by a four-digit code. The NAICS was developed to replace the SIC code, but some resources still contain the SIC.