BUSMHR 7530 Technology Entrepreneurship and Commercialization

Mintel market research reports analyze the driving forces, market share, competitors, and customer profiles that shape a consumer market's size and characteristics. Highlight sections are the consumer attitudes and behaviors, which is information we have nowhere else in Libraries' resources. We also have access to Mintel's Global New Products Database which covers new product releases including information on marketing claims, ingredients, packaging and more!

The strength of the BCC Research database is its coverage of STEM-related markets (biotechnology, energy, engineering, healthcare, etc.). Their market research reports explore the global market and generally discuss a 5-year market forecast, different applications for a particular technology or material, industry structure, major players and market shares, and any relevant technology shifts. Covers more than 250 markets.

The industry section of this database includes news, a list of major participants in the industry, and links to industry and market research reports, particularly RMA Norms reports and MarketLine reports. The database also has in-depth company profiles.

BizMiner’s strength lies in providing regional and local reports, as well as national, including: industry financial analysis series, sole proprietorship financial reports, industry market trend series, competitive market narrative series, demographics reports, and sales per square foot reports. The availability of local reports varies and you may need to examine a broader industry if you’re looking for more granular geographic data. National reports generally allow you to subset industries by sales class.

Passport GMID has a lot of information that might contribute to a market analysis, including information on industries, countries and consumers. A country report for a particular industry will include brief coverage of sales performance (often by categories), company and brand shares, and 'Key Data Findings'.

eMarketer provides market research and information focused particularly on digital marketing, media and commerce. Advertising and marketing and ecommerce are areas of particular focus; specific industries covered include financial services, health, technology and more. As well as reports, there are also interviews with key industry players and charts highlighting key data points.

Data-Planet provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, state institutions, private organizations and major intergovernmental organizations. You can also choose to browse data by subject or geography

The Social Explorer database provides demographic information about the United States from 1940 to the present. As well as census data, there is also elections data, crime data, business patterns, environmental summaries, health data and data on religion.

This database provides access to the DataBank from The World Bank and other officially recognized international sources. Developmental data can be browsed and filtered by country, series and/or time.

This is the official iLibrary for the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development and includes access to books, periodicals and statistics. Publications and statistics can be browsed by theme and/or country.

This database provides a good starting point for broad background on a particular country. Country Reviews (available under the Intelligence Zone drop down meu on the homepage) include a political overview, economic overview, investment overview, social overview, and environmental overview. The database also includes political news, elections information and forecasts.

As well as information on consumers and industries, Passport GMID includes a section on 'Economies' which provides reports on 'Business Dynamics', 'Economy, Finance & Trade', and 'Sustainability' for covered nations. The Business Dynamics reports may be particularly interesting because they briefly cover the operations and regulatory environment, information on financing and investing, background on the skills and labor available in the country and an overview of transportation and infrastructure.

Country profiles in this database are brief, but include key information regarding location and climate, government and recent political history, economic affairs and regional and international co-operation. Covers more than 250 countries and territories.