Research Guides: ENGL 3467S: Getting Started

Contact the Libraries!

Call us: 614-292-OSUL (6785)
Chat with us
Email us
Browse FAQ

Getting Started

Welcome to the Issues and Methods in Tutoring Writing research guide. On the Getting Started page, you will find links to a range of reference sources, search tips, and citation and copyright information. If the OSU Libraries does not have a book or article you need, no problem! Use Article Express to request an electronic scan of articles held in OSU Library collections and the collections of other libraries around the world. Visit Interlibrary Services to request books and other materials not available in either the OSU or OhioLINK catalogs.

There are several ways to locate the information you need:

Search the catalogs to find books, journals (but not articles within journals--use the databases to find articles), microforms, multimedia, and links to online sources (databases and online journals) owned or licensed by a library. If you're new to the catalog, I suggest searching by keyword using the OSU Library Catalog Search box on each page of this guide. For search tips and tutorials, click here.

OSU Catalog - Search for books, e-books, and other materials owned by OSU Libraries, Columbus and regional campuses. Borrow Materials online. You can also search with a special mobile version of the OSU Catalog.

OhioLINK Catalog - Combined catalog of a consortium of 88 Ohio university and college libraries, the State Library of Ohio, and more. Have materials delivered to OSU.

WorldCat Local@OSU - Searches materials at OSU, OhioLINK (the Ohio libraries shared catalog), and libraries worldwide.

Search the Research Databases list by title or subject to find journal articles, many of which may be available as full text.

Search the OSUL's Online Journals list by title or subject to locate a specific online journal title, browse a list of online journal titles, or identify online journal titles by subject.

If your instructor put material on hold for your course, click here.

Getting Started--Additional Resources

A background or reference source provides concise, contextual information on a topic (bibliographies, biographical information, dates, timelines, etc.). You can also use these to to find keywords to use for searching online library databases and library catalogs for books and articles on your topic.

A primary source is an original document, artifact, or creative work. Examples include an 18th-century newspaper, Samuel Pepys' diary, William Wordsworth's poem, Desideria, and Zadie Smith's novel, On Beauty. For more on primary sources, see the resource guide created by OSUL's David Lincove.

A secondary source discusses, interprets, and/or critiques a primary sources.

A peer-reviewed article has been vetted by other experts in the field before it was published in a scholarly journal. Many databases will allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. Check out this informative Prezi on scholarly publishing created by OSUL's Melanie Schlosser.

A popular article is written by a journalist or a professional writer for a general audience.

Better Searching (Video--8:32) Demonstrates search strategies in Google, the OSUL Catalog, and research databases
Tutorial: Developing Research Questions This tutorial will help you complete better research projects faster. Consequently: If your research is for academic purposes, you’ll save time and get better grades on those projects. If your research is for your own personal use, you’ll save time and will be more confident of the decisions you make as a result of that research.
Tutorial: Smart Research Strategies After completing this tutorial you will be able to: - Describe the steps of a research process for finding the best materials and in the most efficient way - Make decisions on content level (from basic to advanced), currency, and depth in order to find the right materials for your needs - Locate data to support your statements
Tutorial: Searching Specialized Databases Specialized databases contain some of the most scholarly information available - resources valuable for research and in assignments. Find material not available for free on the open web (OSU Libraries pays for it so you can use it). Search for information only in a format you need. Search for information within a specific subject area.
Keyword vs. Subject Searching (U of Illinois) This chart outlines the key differences between keyword searching and subject searching.

Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue Univ.
Help with MLA citations and paper format; search site for other formats (APA, Chicago, etc.)
Citation Management Software
Learn how to use RefWorks, Endnote, and other tools to keep track of your citations
FAQ about MLA Citations

The Ohio State University Libraries Special Collections collect, preserve, and promote the use of distinctive collections, unique resources and primary research materials. Our diverse collections are available for use by Ohio State University faculty and students as well as visiting scholars and the general public. A search of the Libraries catalog may be limited to only special collections holdings on the Search page by selecting “Special Collections and Archives” in place of “Search Full Catalog.” Browse the online finding aids, inventories, and guides to learn more about the collections available to researchers (you!).

Students of rhetoric and composition may be particularly interested in the Jerry Tarver Elocution, Rhetoric, and Oratory Collection.

English Librarian

Jennifer Schnabel

Email Me

Subjects: Film, Linguistics, Literature

OSU Library Catalog Search

Connect to OSU Library catalog

Select the search type from the dropdown menu and enter your search words...