The Ohio State Universities | University Libraries | Resource Guides

GEOG 2750

Maps

In the news

News Article 
News Databases

Local Columbus Events

Resources on Sub-Saharan Africa

Introduction: This guide will cover a set of high-quality sources of information on Sub-Saharan Africa in order to help you understand this complex region. North Africa most often is covered under Middle East.


About the Africa Area Studies Collection 
at Ohio University
Ohio University Libraries African Studies collection provides research materials and scholarly resources necessary for a comprehensive understanding of the African continent, its peoples and its languages. It is designed to support the daily teaching and research needs of an undergraduate curriculum across the social sciences, humanities, as well as graduate MA and Ph.D. level study of Africa in a variety of disciplines including the fine arts, history, communication studies, international development studies, education, health sciences, public health and public administration.
Concentrates on Sub-Saharan Africa notably West Africa, East Africa and Southern Africa. The collection is rich in African language titles primarily Amharic, Setswana, Swahili, Arabic, Twi, Somali and Tigrinya including a unique collection of Tigrinya language texts of Eritrean folk literature, collections of stories, poems and novels. It contains maps of Africa and hundreds of films relating to Africa, films include features and documentaries. Rare books mainly travel descriptions of explorers to Africa in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries are housed in the libraries Special Collections.

Resources

Geography and Natural Environment:

Sources focused on climate, water resources and vegetation

 

Development:

Sources focused on economic sectors, urbanization, economic systems

Culture:

Sources focused on current and changing ideology, ethnicity, language, religion, social class

Geopolitics:

Sources focused on territorial divisions, cooperation (economic/security/military), and conflict

Area Studies Librarian

 

Araba Dawson-Andoh
Ohio University

Contact:
122A Alden Library
30 Park Place
Athens, Ohio, 45701
740-593-2547

 

Wolof Language

Learn the Wolof language. Wolof is spoken in Senegal, Gambia and Mauritania.

Highlife Music from Ghana

Artist: Daddy Lumba