Research Guides: GEOG 2750: --Western Europe

Contact Information

Deidra Herring

Email Me

Contact:

1858 Neil Ave.
Columbus, OH 43210
Thompson Library

614.247.7235

Subjects: Education, Psychology

Map

Western Europe

In the news

News Article

How to leave the European Union
An article from "The Economist"

BBC News - Europe

European Newsstream This link opens in a new window
This database's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.

West European Events

Columbus International Festival
An annual festival that features cultural entertainment, fashion show, ethnic foods and cooking demonstrations from around the globe.

Ohio State Univesity offers a minor in West European Studies in the International Studies Program.

Resources on Western Europe

Introduction: This guide will offers selected, high-quality sources of information on Western Europe or Europe generally in order to help you understand this complex region.

Rialto Bridge Across the Grand Canal in Venice, Italy

The Rialto Bridge across the Grand Canal in Venice, Italy

Europa World Plus: Western Europe
Read a broad overview of Western Europe and the European Union economies, trade, governance, and regional partnerships.
Wikipedia-Europe
Wikipedia- Northern Europe
Wikipedia- Western Europe
Wikipedia-Southern Europe

Western Europe is a geographical region that encompasses many different cultures and languages. The OSU Libraries collections on Western Europe are very broad in scope and cover a range of subjects. Many resources on this region are part of broader works on Europe or the European Union. A search for resources in the library catalog or in databases should include the use of broad and specific geographic terms along with specific topic terms to explore for what is needed.

Resources

Geography and Natural Environment:

Sources focused on climate, water resources and vegetation

Life in Europe under Climate Change
Chapter 2 - Climate and Climate Change
Life in Europe under Climate Change
Chapter 7 - Ecosystems and biodiversity
The Worldmakers: Global Imagining in Early Modern Europe
Land Use and Land Cover Mapping in Europe
Adaptation to Climate Change Through Water Resources Management
Chapter 8 - Water for rice farming and biodiversity: Exploring choices for adaptation to climate change in Doñana, southern Spain

Chapter 18 - The discursive framing of climate threats and opportunities in the Netherlands' water sector
World Geography Volume 3: Europe

People:

Sources focused on population (spatial) distribution, migration, and demographics

Journey of Man - Europe and Central Asia

Global Migration
Chapter 2 - Migration is historically normal: Europe as source and destination of global population movements
Chapter 4 - Borders as Floodgates: Contesting the myth from federal and regional international experiences in light of EU free movement
Managing Labour Migration in Europe : Ideas, Knowledge and Policy Change
See chapter 6 - The EU and labor migration policy-making in the UK and Spain
Strangers No More: Immigration and the Challenges of Integration in North America and Western Europe
See chapter 2- Who are the Immigrants?
Experiencing European Integration: transnational lives and European identity
See chapter 4- Being and Feeling European

BBC News-Europe migrant crisis
Schengen: Controversial EU free movement deal explained
The Schengen Agreement abolished many of the EU's internal borders, enabling passport-free movement across most of the bloc.
People aren’t having babies in Denmark so they made this hilariously provocative ad

Development:

Sources focused on the economic sector, urbanization, and economic systems

Handbook of European Societies
Ch.8 Culture, by Jurgen Gerhards
European Identity and Culture
See chapter 2 - Cultural Formations of the European Union: Integration, Enlargement, Nation and Crisis
Experiencing European Integration: transnational lives and European identity
See chapter 2- Transnationalism
Rural Cooperation in Europe: in search of the 'relational rurals'
The Labour Market Impact of the EU Enlargement
See chapter 2- Structural change and labor reallocation across regions: a review of the literature

European Economic Forecast-Spring 2016
A report by the European Commission
EU Regular Economic Report
A 2015 report from the World Bank

Culture:

Sources focused on current and changing ideology, ethnicity, language, religion, and social class

Handbook of European Societies
Chapter 8 - Culture
Chapter 13 - Life Course
Chapter 15 - Religion and Churches
Chapter 17 - Stratification and Social Mobility
European Identity and Culture
Chapter 3 - National Identification, Social Belonging and Questions on European Identity

Chapter 8 - Tourism, Transnationalism, and the Construction of Everyday Life in Europe

Europeanization (journal article)

Geopolitics:

Sources focused on territorial divisions, cooperation (economic/security/military), and conflict

Geopolitics and Expertise: Knowledge and Authority in European Diplomacy
See chapter 2 - Knowledge and Policy in Transnational Fields
Europe in the World: EU Geopolitics and the Making of European Space
See chapter 8 - Off-Shore Biopolitical Border Security: The EU's Global Response to Migration, Piracy, and 'Risky' Subjects

BBC News- UK Politics
YaleGlobal Online-Europe
YaleGlobal Online is a publication of the Whitney and Betty MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies at Yale.

Music

Traditional Music of Europe
This essay covers traditional music in Europe
Django Reinhardt : three-fingered lightning (video)
Belgium born French guitarist Django Reinhardt played with only two fingers of his left hand was considered Europe's first jazz superstar.

Mozart piano sonatas: KV310, 331 Alla Turca, 333 Fantasy in C
Audio of Austrian composer Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Piano Sonata No. 8 in A minor K310/K300d -- Piano Sonata No. 11 in A major K331/K300i -- Piano Sonata No. 13 in B flat major K333/315c -- Fantasia in C minor K475

Europe Radio
Listen to songs from contemporary European artists.

Language

Link to Map of West European Languages

Include a link to a language audio file here.