The Ohio State Universities | University Libraries | Resource Guides

GEOG 2750

Maps

In the news

News Article 

India is currently embroiled in large-scale national discussions about censorship and academic freedom kicked off, at least in part, by a February 2016 incident at Jawaharlal Nehru University in Delhi.

News Databases

Local Columbus Events

The Indian Students Association organizes a variety of local cultural events including annual celebrations of the Hindu festivals Holi and Diwali. Check their website for more information on dates and scheduling.

Also check out the annual India Festival.

Resources on South Asia

Introduction: This guide will cover a set of library, online and multimedia sources to introduce the South Asia region with a focus on India.

 

About the Ohio State University's South Asian Area Studies Collection
South Asia falls under the Middle East Studies section of the OSU Library.  While OSU Libraries do not have as extensive a collection of South Asian titles as other research libraries that have larger and older programs, we do have access to a large number of databases dealing with the sub-continent.  We also have a large number of English language Indian journals available online.

See the Bibliography of Asian Studies for resources for this region.

 

About the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign's South Asian Area Studies Collection
The University of Illinois Library was one of the first subscribers to the Library of Congress foreign acquisitions program for South Asia and has been actively collecting South Asian materials since 1963. The collection comprises of excellent printed and electronic resources that support teaching and research in South Asian Studies, which includes India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, the Maldives, and Bhutan. The primary focus of the South Asian Collection is on the humanities and social sciences. As a result the South Asian collection is strong in the areas of Linguistics, Literature, Geography, History, Indology, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Cultures, Societies and Gender  Studies. The South Asian Collection contains materials in both English and vernacular languages of South Asia, including the 23 languages of India. Some of the language materials included in the collection are:  Assamese, Bengali, Burmese, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Pali, Prakrit, Punjabi, Rajasthani, Sanskrit, Sindhi, Sinhalese, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.
Today the South Asian Collection is comprised of over 210,000 volumes. In addition to its many books and journals, the library has a growing collection of Indian popular media, especially films. The library also has the most comprehensive collection of Indian comics and graphic novels in North America.

Resources

Geography and Natural Environment:

Sources focused on climate, water resources and vegetation

 

People:

Sources focused on population (spatial) distribution, migration, and demographics

Development:

Sources focused on the economic sector, urbanization, and economic systems

 

Culture:

Sources focused on current and changing ideology, ethnicity, language, religion, and social class

 

Geopolitics:

Sources focused on territorial divisions, cooperation (economic/security/military), and conflict

Area Studies Librarian


 

Mara L. Thacker
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
 

Contact:

International and Area Studies Library
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-300-5717

In the spirit of inter-institutional cooperation, Ohio State University scholars needing assistance with South Asian Studies research are welcomed to contact Mara Thacker for help.


Language

Music

Bhangra music is a popular, upbeat music style originating in the Punjab region of India and Pakistan. The music and associated dances have been very influential in the Indian film industry, and many college campuses in the United States have their own bhangra dance teams that participate in competitions. In fact, check out OSU's own team Buckeye Bhangra! The video below is of a very popular bhangra song by the renowned artist Daler Mehndi