JAPANESE 8500 - Japanese Bibliography and Research Methods

「日本語研究・日本語教育文献データベース」 Index to articles on linguistics, Japanese language and language pedagogy. Comprises data from 『国語年鑑』and『日本語教育年鑑』.

Database of research thesis in Japanese literature from National Institute of Japanese Literature.

An international research hub in collaboration with domestic and overseas universities and research organizations.

CiNii(Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, pronounced like "sigh-knee") is a database service which can be searched for academic information of articles, books & Jjournals.

Japanese Institutional Repositories Online

Database of research thesis in Japanese literature from National Institute of Japanese Literature.

National Diet Library's search system for books, articles, theses, news, and digitized materials within its holdings as well as throughout Japan, aggregating access to many databases and web sites.

「日本語研究・日本語教育文献データベース」 Index to articles on linguistics, Japanese language and language pedagogy. Comprises data from 『国語年鑑』and『日本語教育年鑑』.

This textbook is designed for beginning learners who want to learn basic Japanese for the purpose of living and working in Japan. Unlike textbooks written primarily for students, whose content largely centers on student life, this book focuses more on social and professional life beyond school.
As a beginning level textbook, this book includes many elementary grammar patterns (Japanese Language Proficiency Test Levels 5 and 4), but the vocabulary and situations are selected specifically for working adults. Explanations are kept concise so as to only cover key points. The main focus is on oral communication and the accompanying audio is to be used extensively. This textbook can be used for self-study, as part of an online course, or as a traditional college course.

This textbook is designed for students who have intermediate competency in Japanese, roughly at Level 2 on the ILR (The Interagency Language Roundtable) proficiency scale, and are working on reaching Level 3.
This textbook can be used for self-study, as part of online course, and in a traditional classroom setting. It is comprised of four chapters, intended to be covered in one term of a quarter system.

National Archives of Japan. Site includes exhibits and searchable archives.

Open access resources on Japanese studies, including art / visual resources, articles, and e-books.

Provides collective information from the publicity materials of ministries and agencies. It also provides basic information about Japan.

Guide to Japan information resources from Stanford University

A repository of files and software related to Japan, its people and particularly the Japanese language.

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources (NCC).

The database provides digital publications (books, periodicals, articles, etc.) NDL took out and archived from the websites of Japanese ministries and agencies. Major publications such as White Papers are accessible via this website (English version of the website is available)

Research Navi is a platform for providing information to the general public. It introduces reference materials, websites, databases, information on related organizations, etc. in accordance with specific subjects or material groups.

Archives the whole websites of public organizations in Japan since 2002. Note: major publications such as White Papers and official bulletins of prefectures are archived in the NDL Digital Collections instead.