Research Guides: COMM 2367: News Sources

Research Help

Need help finding articles or citing sources for your research project? Use the information below to connect with a reference team member (please let them know you are taking Communication 2367).

Call us: 614-292-OSUL (6785)
Chat with us
Email us
Browse FAQ

Associate Professor, Librarian for Communication & Political Science

Hilary Bussell

Email Me

Contact:

1858 Neil Avenue
250B Thompson Library
614-292-9437
bussell.21@osu.edu

Subjects: Communications, Political Science

When to use newspaper articles

1. When researching an event or something related to your topic that happened very recently.

2. When you want to find out current events related to an ongoing topic.

3. Look for historic newspaper articles when you want to know how a topic was discussed at another point in time.

Find newspaper or magazine articles

Newspaper Source [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times (for a total of 194 full text newspapers and other sources).
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Access World News: Research Collection includes thousands of U.S. and global news sources. Content includes newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, newswires, news videos and journalist-written blogs.

Columbus Dispatch (Online)
We have online access to the Columbus Dispatch from 1985-present through several databases.

Lantern, (Ohio State University) [Full Text] This link opens in a new window
This free online archive of The Lantern debuts with the years 1959-1969. Coverage will be added to the site a decade at a time, eventually to include every issue published from 1881 to August 1997. For the current electronic version see The Lantern site
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
TOPICsearch is a current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for articles from magazines, newspapers, pamphlets, biographies, book reviews, public opinion polls, EBSCO's Current Issues database, and government information.

Example APA citation

Hunt, S. (2011, December 5). Deal sought for road repair by drillers. The Columbus Dispatch. Retrieved from http://dispatch.com.