Research Guides: COMM 2367: Data & Statistics

Research Help

Need help finding articles or citing sources for your research project? Use the information below to connect with a reference team member (please let them know you are taking Communication 2367).

Call us: 614-292-OSUL (6785)
Chat with us
Email us
Browse FAQ

Associate Professor, Librarian for Communication & Political Science

Hilary Bussell

Email Me

Contact:

1858 Neil Avenue
250B Thompson Library
614-292-9437
bussell.21@osu.edu

Subjects: Communications, Political Science

Find data and statistics

Where can I get data about my topic?

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research - Datasets This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of public opinion survey datasets. The focus of the collection is on surveys from the United States, although the collection also includes surveys from Europe, Latin America and Asia. The collection includes datasets dating back as far as 1936.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides demographic information about the United States, from 1940 to 2000.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap captures data in visually powerful ways through custom demographic maps, tables, reports and an analysis tool, Analytics. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.
Europa World Plus [Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Covers political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.

Education Statistics
From the National Center for Education Statistics.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Statistics on employment, occupations, industry and demographics from the US government.
More Data Sources
Find data on other topics on the Data Research Guide.

Example APA citation

Basic form:
Author/Rightsholder. (Year). Title of data set (Version number) [Description of form]. Location: Name of producer.
or
Author/Rightsholder. (Year). Title of data set (Version number) [Description of form]. Retrieved from http://

Example:
Pew Hispanic Center. (2008). 2007 Hispanic Healthcare Survey [Data file and code book]. Retrieved from http://pewhispanic.org/datasets/

This guide from Michigan State University provides instructions for citing datasets and statistics using APA and other formats.