Research Guides: OSU Extension: Search the Library Catalog

Interlibrary Loan Borrowing through ILLiad

Request books and other materials not available at OSU or OhioLINK through our ILLiad request system.

Suggest a Purchase

Need a book, an educational video, or a teaching resource on a topic? Use the Recommend a Purchase form. You can always email me if you are unsure or have a question about a resource you like to recommend.

Library Catalogs

OSU Library Catalog
Search for books, e-books, and other materials owned by OSU Libraries, Columbus and regional campuses.
OhioLINK Library Catalog
Combined catalog of a consortium of 88 Ohio university and college libraries, the State Library of Ohio, and more.
SearchOhio
SearchOhio provides a search across a number of public library catalogs simultaneously. The portal allows for direct online requests for residents of Ohio.
WorldCat@OSU
Searches materials at OSU, OhioLINK (the Ohio libraries shared catalog), and libraries worldwide.

Search OSU Library Catalog

What is this searching? The OSU Library Catalog searches for print, electronic and other formats in the OSU Libraries collections. More Search Options >>

Find eJournals

What is this searching? This search locates print and electronic journals in the OSU catalog. It covers only the titles of journals (e.g. American Journal of Sociology, Chronicle of Higher Education, Nature, New York Times), and not the articles within them. More Search Options >>

What is this searching? This search used the Online Journal Finder and covers only the titles of journals (e.g. American Journal of Sociology, Chronicle of Higher Education, Nature, New York Times), and not the articles within them.

Browse Online Journals >>

Use this service if you want to:

locate a specific online journal title,
browse a list of online journal titles,
identify online journal titles by subject.

Tips for Using the Library Catalog

The OSU Libraries' Catalog contains records for all the items owned or licensed by the Libraries that are available for checkout or online use from the University Libraries. The catalog:

Shows the location and current availability of materials owned by the University Libraries;
Provides links to full-text electronic journals, databases, and books;
Allows you to Request Materials from any OSU Library, including those located on the Columbus and regional campuses;
Allows you to transfer your search to the OhioLINK Catalog if OSU Libraries does not own an item or an item is checked-out, or to Interlibrary Services if no OSU Library or OhioLINK Libraries owns an item you need.

To access the catalog from the Libraries’ website at http://library.osu.edu, choose the Books and More tab. From there, you can do a search or click on More Options to get to get access to other search options, including an advanced search. The catalog allows searching by author, title, journal title, subject, and keyword as well as specialty numbers such as the Library of Congress call number and ISBN (International Standard Book Number).

Tips for searching the catalog:

Keyword searches are the broadest search, as they span all information in an item record.
Subjects are a very specific set of terms that are helpful for precision searches. Often, the easiest way to find subject terms is to do a keyword search and look at the subject terms for those that are good matches for your topic.
The Advanced Search screen allows a few additional search capabilities, such as multiple search fields to narrow the scope of a search term. You can also limit by year range, language, location, or format. See additional search tips for searching the catalog.