Research Guides: OSU Extension: Scholarly Publishing &amp; Impact

Useful Author Profile Tools

ORCID
ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognized.
Google Scholar Profile
Google Scholar offers a popular way to create a profile that showcases your own papers and the citations they’ve received. It also calculates a platform-dependent h-index. click the “My Citations” link at the top of the page to get your account setup started.
ResearcherID
ResearcherID provides a solution to the author ambiguity problem within the scholarly research community. Each member is assigned a unique identifier to enable researchers to manage their publication lists, track their times cited counts and h-index, identify potential collaborators and avoid author misidentification. In addition, your ResearcherID information integrates with the Web of Knowledge and is ORCID compliant, allowing you to claim and showcase your publications from a single one account.
Scopus Author Profile
Scopus Profiles are created by a powerful algorithm that groups documents with a high-level of certainty to a unique Author number. Enter an author search in the Scopus database and click on the highlighted name in the results list. The profile provides a publications overview, various analyses such as the h-index, and a unique Author ID.

Library Guides on Scholarly Publishing & Impact

Navigating the Article Publication Process
This guide provides resources that can be used to help performing an effective evaluation of a journal or publisher. In addition, the guide provide information on deciding on the best place to publish scholarly works as well as information about rights as an author and publication agreements.
Research Impact
The resources in this guide will help you track citations and mentions of your work, locate the research metrics used in assessing scholarship, and increase the visibility of your published research. (OSU Libraries)
Scholarly Impact and Citation Analysis
This guide provides information on resources and research methods involved in conducting citation analysis. (CFAES Wooster Campus Library)

Scholarly Impact & Citation Metrics

Scholarly impact

Find out citation counts and who is citing your work with a Cited Reference Search using Google Scholar, Scopus, or Web of Science.
Determine the impact factors and rankings of the journals in which you've published with Journal Rankings.
Monitor downloads, views, and discussion of your work on social media using Altmetrics.

There are general steps you can take to help with documenting your citation metrics:

Be consistent in the way you use your name as an author
Monitor and manage your author profiles in Google Scholar, Scopus, and Web of Science to be sure all your articles are included
- If you have a compound name, make sure the database enters it correctly
- If you have a common name, create profiles in the databases to record your publications
- Make your Google Scholar profile public, so that others can see your publications
Register your author profiles in ORCID which provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher.
Publish in journals that are covered by indexing services and Google Scholar.
Publish in open access journals or grant open access rights (when available) to make your work accessible to those without subscriptions.
Deposit a copy of your work in the Knowledge Bank or other authorized repository to increase visibility

[Source: Scholarly Impact and Citation Analysis]

InCites Journal Citation Reports
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/regions.
Scopus CiteScore Metrics
CiteScore metrics from Scopus are comprehensive, transparent, current and free metrics for serial titles in Scopus.
Google Scholar Metrics
Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications. Scholar Metrics summarize recent citations to many publications, to help authors as they consider where to publish their new research. To get started, you can browse the top 100 publications in several languages, ordered by their five-year h-index and h-median metrics. To see which articles in a publication were cited the most and who cited them, click on its h-index number to view the articles as well as the citations underlying the metrics.

Altmetrics

Altmetrics uses non-traditional metrics and is a developing field that seeks to supplement established forms of citation analysis, such as article citation and journal impact factor, with usage measures that can be captured through social media, such as Twitter, Facebook, blogs, and bibliographic management tools like Mendeley and Zotero.

Altmetric
Altmetric tracks a range of sources to capture and collate scholarly activity, helping you to monitor and report on the attention surrounding the work you care about.
Altmetric Badges
Altmetric donuts provide a colourful, distinctive and instantly recognisable visualisation to help showcase the wider influence and dissemination of your published content.
Impactstory
ImpactStory is a web service that makes it quick and easy to view the impact of a wide range of research output. It goes beyond traditional measurements of research output to embrace a much broader evidence of use across a wide range of scholarly output types.
PlumX Metrics
PlumX Metrics provide insights into the ways people interact with individual pieces of research output (articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, and many more) in the online environment. Examples include, when research is mentioned in the news or is tweeted about.

Transforming Scholarly Publishing @ Ohio State

The Ohio State University Libraries promotes innovative research and creative expression and curates and preserves information essential for scholarship and learning. Making the research and scholarship of Ohio State’s faculty, staff and students openly available allows us to live our land grant mission – sharing knowledge and culture with the people of Ohio, the nation and the world.

The current scholarly publishing model creates barriers for researchers and has become unsustainable. In alignment with the university’s promise of operational excellence and resource stewardship, we are exploring partnerships to transform that model while also ensuring researchers have access to the tools crucial for their work.

Current Open Access Agreements

Think. Check. Submit

Think. Check. Submit. helps researchers identify trusted journals and publishers for their research. Through a range of tools and practical resources, this international, cross-sector initiative aims to educate researchers, promote integrity, and build trust in credible research and publications.

Copyright Services

Copyright Services supports Ohio State faculty, staff, and students by providing education and guidance on the application of copyright law to facilitate teaching, research, and scholarship.

Workshops
Customized Presentations
Consultations
Copyright Permission Requests Assistance
Information on How to Register a Copyright
Referral to Resources

Office Hours and Consultations: Do you have copyright questions related to your research? Come talk to Copyright Services during our open office hours at the Research Commons to discuss issues related to identifying, using, and creating copyrighted content. Open office hours are available and consultations can be scheduled through the Research Commons.

Learn more about copyright basics and Copyright Services at https://library.osu.edu/copyright.