The Ohio State Universities | University Libraries | Resource Guides

OSU Extension

Resources to support study and research for OSU Extension faculty and staff.

Web of Science

The Web of Science platform connects the Web of Science Core Collection to regional citation indexes, patent data, specialized subject indexes, and an index of research data sets, all in all totaling over 33,000 journals. 

Watch this video to learn how to do an all databases search in Web of Science.

Additional tutorials and training options are available from the Clarivate Analytics Training Portal.

Scopus

Scopus is one of the largest bibliographic databases containing abstracts and citations for academic journal articles. It covers nearly 22,000 titles from over 5,000 publishers, of which 20,000 are peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences (including arts and humanities). Scopus offers a variety of features and smart tools to help you stay current with research and authors, track citations and manage your account or profile. 

Watch this video to learn how to use and personalize Scopus.

There is also a quick reference guide that you might find useful. For more specific help, check out these tutorials.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine by Google that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. The Google Scholar index includes most peer-reviewed online academic journals and books, conference papers, theses and dissertations, preprints, abstracts, technical reports, and other scholarly literature, including court opinions and patents. Use Google Scholar to find scholarly articles and books, verify citations, and explore related resources. When books are available through Google Books, some of their content may be available online. Important note: Setting Ohio State University in Scholar Preferences will help you make direct connections to online sources provided by the library. In your search results, you can connect to a full-text version if there is a linked option following the item’s title. If you’ve enabled Ohio State Library links (Settings > Library links > "The Ohio State University Libraries", a Find It @OSU link is shown to provide a link to full-text or to help you request the item if it’s not available online via interlibrary services. 

Additional search tips:

  • Authors related to your search are shown in the left column to help you find related content.The Recent Articles link allows you to limit your search results by date.
  • Advanced Scholar Search provides additional search fields such as author, publication, and date, as well as phrase matching and word exclusion. You can also limit by subject area.
  • More search tips can be found here.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. 

Watch this tutorial on the basics of the EBSCOhost interface use.

Additional search tips:

  • Use the Advanced Search in order to use multiple search boxes
  • If you don’t get enough results, try to change “Select a Field (optional)” to “TX All Text” in your Find box which will search the entire text of articles available in full text, not just titles, abstracts, and subject terms
  • You may need to use different search terms. For example, you can try to use the topics listed at the left under “Refine Search” to find additional terms to describe your topic
  • You can also use the Thesaurus (on top of the page above the search box) to find the proper subject headings for your search concepts and add to your search
  • Try limiting your search results either on the initial search screen or by using the “Refine Search” feature. For example, you can limited your results list to display only scholarly resources by checking “Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)”
  • See Help for more advanced searching techniques and additional tips

Watch this tutorial on how to use the advanced searching on the EBSCOhost interface.