University Libraries Logo University Libraries Logo
RESEARCH GUIDES

Citation Help

Resources for citation style guides and citation software management

More Ways to Ask Questions

Call us: 614-292-8463
Chat with us
    Send question by email
    Browse FAQ
    Recommend a purchase
     Contact a subject librarian

Chicago Manual of Style Notes-Bibliography System Style Guide

The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition (University of Chicago Press, 2010) offers two basic citation systems: 1) The Notes-Bibliography system, recommended for literature, history, and the arts; and 2) The Author-Date system, recommended for the physical, natural, and social sciences. For a brief overview of both systems, please see the Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide, provided on the publishers website. For more specific examples, please see Chapters 14 and 15 of The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition. Please note: Your osu name.# and password may be required to access this resource.

Chicago Notes-Bibliography Style Guide

Examples are shown for the Notes-Bibliography system recommended for literature, history, and the arts. Bibliography items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. Notes (footnotes or endnotes) citations are placed in the body of the paper.

Journal Article (One Author)

Bibliography:

Banks, William. "A Secret Meeting in Boise." Midwestern Political Review 6 (1958): 27-31.

Note:

William Banks, "A Secret Meeting in Boise," Midwestern Political Review 6 (1958): 29.

Journal Article (Two Authors)

Bibliography:

Brown, Cecelia M., and Lina Ortega. "Information-seeking Behavior of Physical Science Librarians: Research and Practice." College & Research Libraries 66 (2005): 231-247.

Note:

Cecelia M. Brown and Lina Ortega, "Information-seeking Behavior of Physical Science Librarians: Research and Practice," College & Research Libraries 66 (2005): 233.

 

Newspaper Article

Bibliography:

Zamiska, Nicholas, and Nicholas Casey. "Toy Makers Face Dilemma Over Supplier." Wall Street Journal, August 17, 2007, Corporate Focus section.

Note:

Nicholas Zamiska and Nicholas Casey, "Toy Makers Face Dilemma Over Supplier," Wall Street Journal, August 17, 2007, Corporate Focus section.

Examples are shown for the Notes-Bibliography system recommended for literature, history, and the arts. Bibliography items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. Notes (footnotes or endnotes) citations are placed in the body of the paper.

Books (One Author)

Bibliography:

Yow, Valerie Raleigh. Recording Oral History: A Guide for the Humanities and Social Sciences. Walnut Creek, CA: Alta Mira Press, 2005.

Note:

Valerie Raleigh Yow, Recording Oral History: A Guide for the Humanities and Social Sciences (Walnut Creek, CA: Alta Mira Press, 2005), 102-3.

Books (Two to Three Authors)

Bibliography:

Adams, Don, and Arlene Goldbard. Creative Community: The Art of Cultural Development. New  York: Rockefeller Foundation, Creativity & Culture Division, 2001.

Note:

Don Adams and Arlene Goldbard, Creative Community: The Art of Cultural Development (New  York: Rockefeller Foundation, Creativity & Culture Division, 2001), 41.

 

Books (Corporate or Organization Author)

Bibliography:

Oberlin College. Conservatory of Music. Library. Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Best Collection of Autographs, in the Mary M. Vial Music Library of the Oberlin College Conservatory of Music. Oberlin, OH: Oberlin College Library, 1967.

Note:

Oberlin College,  Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Best Collection of Autographs, in the Mary M. Vial Music Library of the Oberlin College Conservatory of Music (Oberlin, OH: Oberlin College Library, 1967), 75-78.

Examples are shown for the Notes-Bibliography system recommended for literature, history, and the arts. Bibliography items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. Notes (footnotes or endnotes) citations are placed in the body of the paper.

Electronic Journal Article*

Bibliography:

Frank, Alison. "The Petroleum War of 1910: Standard Oil, Austria, and the Limits of the Multinational Corporation." American Historical Review 114, no.1 (Feb. 2009): 16-41. doi:10.1086/ahr.114.1.16.

Note:

Alison Frank, "The Petroleum War of 1910: Standard Oil, Austria, and the Limits of the Multinational Corporation," American Historical Review 114, no.1 (Feb. 2009): 16. doi:10.1086/ahr.114.1.16.

*While doi is preferred, if it is not available use the shortest, most stable form of the url.

Electronic Book

Bibliography:

Hartog, Hendrik. Man and Wife in America: A History. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2002. http://quod.lib.umich.edu/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=acls;;idno=heb04365.

Note:

Hendrik Hartog, Man and Wife in America: A History (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2002). http://quod.lib.umich.edu/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=acls;;idno=heb04365.

 

Web Site*

Bibliography:

University of Virginia. "The National Marriage Project." Last modified September 8, 2010. http://www.virginia.edu/marriageproject/.

Note:

University of Virginia, "The National Marriage Project," last modified September 8, 2010, http://www.virginia.edu/marriageproject/.

*If unable to determine a publication date or date of revision or modification, include an access date.

Examples are shown for the Notes-Bibliography system recommended for literature, history, and the arts. Bibliography items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. Notes (footnotes or endnotes) citations are placed in the body of the paper.

Thesis or Dissertation

Bibliography:

Ryals, D. "Renaissance Speculation: Shakespeare and the Prehisotry of Liberalis." PhD diss., University of California, Irvine, 2006.

Notes:

D. Ryals, "Renaissance Speculation: Shakespeare and the Prehisotry of Liberalis" (PhD diss., University of California, Irvine, 2006), 31-32.
The Ohio State University

© The Ohio State University - University Libraries
1858 Neil Avenue Mall, Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: (614) 292-OSUL (6785) | Fax: (614) 292-9101

Request an alternate format of this page | Accessibility | Privacy Policy

For all other requests, click Ask Us.