Research Guides: Research Impact: Choosing Where to Publish

For Help with Research Impact

To make an appointment for a consultation, email libresearchimpact@osu.edu

Selecting a Journal

See the Journal Metrics page for information on journal impact factors and rankings.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated list of open access journals and aims to be the starting point for all information searches for quality, peer reviewed open access material. Look for the gold DOAJ seal and green checkmark beside a title.

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Ulrichs web is a source of detailed information on over 300,000 periodicals of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.

Navigating the Article Publication Process
by Johanna Meetz Last Updated Feb 13, 2024 54 views this year

Copyright

Copyright Services at OSU Libraries provides information and consultation on copyright, including assistance with publisher agreements and retaining your rights in your copyrighted work.

Copyright
by Maria Scheid Last Updated Oct 4, 2022 132 views this year
Top copyright issues encountered by OSU graduate students
by Patricia Verdines Last Updated Jan 12, 2024 40 views this year

SHERPA ROMEO is online resource that aggregates and analyses publisher open access policies from around the world and provides summaries of publisher copyright and open access archiving policies on a journal-by-journal basis.

Repositories for Preprints and Other Research Outputs (Not Comprehensive)

Knowledge Bank
OSU's institutional repository.
OSF Preprints

A group of preprint communities using the OSF infrastructure. Among those included are: AgriXiv, EarthArXiv, EcoEvoRxiv, ECSarXiv, engrXiv, FocUS Archive, LawArXiv, LIS Scholarship Archive, MediArXiv, MetaArXiv (formerly BITSS), MindRxiv, NutriXiv, paleorXiv, PsyArXiv, SocArXiv, and SportRxiv.

arXiv.org
Open e-print archive with over 100000 articles in physics, 10000 in mathematics, and 1000 in computer science.
bioRxiv.org
The preprint server for Biology.
CORE - Open Access Repository for the Humanities
A full-text, interdisciplinary, non-profit social repository designed to increase the impact of work in the Humanities.
Preprints.org
A multidisciplinary preprint platform.
figshare
Includes any type of academic data: figures, datasets, media (including video), code, papers (including pre-prints), a thesis, posters, presentations and filesets (groups of files).
SlideShare
Includes presentations, infographics, documents, and videos.
Dryad
Hosts research data underlying scientific and medical publications. Historically, the repository has been strongest in the life sciences. Most data in the repository is associated with peer-reviewed journal articles, but data associated with non-peer reviewed publications from other reputable sources (such as dissertations and books) is also accepted.

Transforming Scholarly Publishing @ Ohio State

Ohio State has Open Access Agreements with the following publishers

The University Libraries has an Open Access Monograph Initiative to support Open Access funding for Ohio State faculty-authored scholarly monographs published with university presses. Other open access initiatives and programs:

Think, Check, Submit

Are you submitting your research to a trusted journal?

View the Book and Chapters and Journals checklists at thinkchecksubmit.org.

Predatory Journals & Conferences

Additional Information

Preprints: The What, The Why, The How
ASAPbio Preprint FAQ
From a biological sciences perspective but has relevance for other fields.
Why DOI?
"DOIs increase the reach and impact of your work.
more...less...
Publishers, repositories, aggregators, indexers, and providers of research and academic profiles are now relying on DOIs to identify specific works accurately, which in turn more reliably links that work to its authors and creators. Furthermore, metadata and information about individual works are increasingly tied to DOIs."
Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing

HowOpenIsIt? Open Access Spectrum

Ohio State nav bar

Research Commons

Connect. Collaborate. Contribute.

Research Impact