Research Guides: Detective Fiction: Special Collections at OSU Libraries

English Librarian

Email Me

Subjects: Film, Linguistics, Literature

Special Collections at OSU Libraries

The Ohio State University Libraries Special Collections collect, preserve, and promote the use of distinctive collections, unique resources and primary research materials. Our diverse collections are available for use by Ohio State University faculty and students as well as visiting scholars and the general public. A search of the Libraries catalog may be limited to only special collections holdings on the Search page by selecting “Special Collections and Archives” in place of “Search Full Catalog.” To learn more about each collection mentioned on this page, please visit their web sites for locations, hours and contact information.

Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum

Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee Theatre Research Institute

Rare Books and Manuscripts Library (includes The William Charvat Collection of American Literature)

Books and Manuscripts

Chester Himes Manuscript Material The Chester Himes Collection contains materials related to Himes's writings and films adapted from his works that were part of the blaxploitation genre. Part of the Rare Books and Manuscripts Library.
Mysterious Press Archive The Mysterious Press was founded and edited by Otto Penzler. The archives represent not only the complete manuscripts, corrected proofs, and correspondence of the Mysterious Press’ publications, but pristine copies of all galleys, limited editions, and first editions of the press, as well as other items.
The Mysterious Press Collection (books)

Magazines, Comic Books & Strips

Detective and mystery stories -- Periodicals
Many of these magazines are held in the Rare Books and Manuscripts collection or at the Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum.
Detective and mystery comic books, strips, etc
Most of these materials are held in the Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum

Theatre materials, film posters

Philip Sills Collection Collection of movie stills, lobby cards, and posters (1927-1970). Some posters are billboard size. This collection is held in The Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee Theatre Research Institute.