Cartoon & Comics Research

Books containing editorial cartoons are available through The Ohio State University Library Catalog. To find these items, search for the artist name, syndicate, or publication/publisher of an artist's work.

The following subject terms gather general resources about editorial cartoons and their creators. 

Editorial cartoonists

Editorial cartoons

Editorial cartoons -- [State or Country] (e.g.Editorial cartoons -- Arizona)

Political cartoons

World politics -- Caricatures and cartoons

United States -- Politics and government -- Caricatures and cartoons

The following are examples of archival collections contain materials related to editorial cartoons:

Al Liederman collection of original editorial cartoons

Art Poinier Collection

Bill Crawford Collection, / 1939-1975

Bill Loughman collection of Walt McDougall and Valerian Gribayedoff cartoon tearsheets, / 1884-1913 bulk 1884-1894

[Editorial cartoon scrapbooks]

Edward D. Kuekes Collection

Edwina Dumm collection, / 1916-1961

Eugene Payne Collection

George T. Maxwell collection of editorial cartoons

Jack Knox Collection, / 194-?-198-?

Jack McLeod papers

Ned White collection

Records of the Association of American Editorial Cartoonists, / 1957-1988

Scott Willis Collection / [graphic.]

Winsor McCay Collection, / [graphic.]

To find original cartoon art, explore these databases:

To find images, search these databases:

For additional image resources, you may want to check out these resources:

Andrews McMeel Editorial Cartoons

Association of American Editorial Cartoonists

The Nib

Washington Post News Service & Syndicate Editorial Cartoons

Need help? 

Email us: cartoons@osu.edu

Call us: 614-292-0538

Visit us: