Research Guides: Arts Administration, Education, and Policy: Books

Publicly Available Digitized Material

If you are having trouble finding an older book or publication electronically, check both Hathi Trust and Internet Archive. Each of these databases has digitized books and other types of publications that have been made available from member institutions. There is a wealth of information in each that may help you in your research.

Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. HathiTrust provides long-term preservation and access services to digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone and items held in copyright are searchable.
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Some Books From The Collection

Arts and cultural management: Sense and sensibilities in the state of the field by Ed. by Constance DeVereaux
Call Number: NX760. A784 2019
ISBN: 1351673440
Electronic book, Access online through Proquest.
Arts, Inc by Bill J. Ivey
Call Number: NX730 .I93 2008 (Fine Arts Library Stacks)
ISBN: 9780520241121
Handbook of Research and Policy in Art Education by Elliot W. Eisner (Editor); Michael D. Day (Editor); Patricia M. Amburgy (Contribution by); Terry Barrett (Contribution by); H. Gene Blocker (Contribution by)
Call Number: N103 .H36 2004 (Fine Arts Library Stacks)
ISBN: 0805849718

Search Catalogs

What is this searching? The OSU Library Catalog searches for print, electronic and other formats in the OSU Libraries collections. More Search Options >>

What is this searching? The OhioLINK catalog allows searching and requesting of scholarly materials located in the 90+ college and university member libraries around Ohio, plus the State Library of Ohio. More Search Options >>

What is this searching? WorldCat@OSU searches across 7 key databases for books, articles, and more. More Search Options >>

What is this searching? The SearchOhio Catalog allows searching and requesting of popular books, DVDs, CDs and other materials from 20+ public library systems throughout the state of Ohio. More Search Options >>

Ebooks through University Libraries

To find ebooks in the library's catalog, you can use the Advanced Search function to search by material type. Here are the steps:

Visit library.osu.edu.
Click on "Books and More."
Click on "More Options" under the search bar.
Click on "Use Advanced Search" under the search bar.
Use the search fields to input keywords for your search and select "E-book" under "Material Type" (box to the right, under the search bars)

You can also do a normal search, and if there is a book you want that is only available physically, please contact the Art & Design Librarian to discuss your options. There maybe an ebook edition that is not appearing in your search results or one can be purchased.

Below are some links for individual ebook platforms available to you with your OSU log-in credentials.

Art & Architecture ePortal - Yale University (trial)
Provides a digital environment in which to discover and interact with art and architectural history scholarship. With tagging on images and text, a robust image search that directs users toward relevant publications, and an interactive online reader tailored for highly illustrated works.

Cahiers d'Art Institute This link opens in a new window
Cahiers d’Art Institute (CDAI) is a 501c3, U.S. nonprofit organization founded by the art publisher Cahiers d’Art, known for its historical, multivolume catalogue raisonné of Picasso as well as newly published catalogues raisonnés of Ellsworth Kelly and Frank Gehry and its famed journal, La Revue. (A catalogue raisonné is a comprehensive and annotated compilation of all the known works of an artist.) CDAI will focus its efforts on the publication of catalogues raisonnés of leading 20th and 21st century artists and architects, both digitally and in book form. Artifex Press, founded in 2009 as one of the first publishers of digital catalogues raisonnés, is now a part of Cahiers d’Art Institute.
Brill’s Medieval Reference Library This link opens in a new window
With over 4000 signed entries, plus over 200 illustrations, this is an indispensible online resource for anyone interested in pre-modern European history and culture.
eBook Collection [Full Text] This link opens in a new window
eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary) is a library of electronic books (e-books) on many academic subjects. The collection includes thousands of titles purchased by OhioLINK, plus thousands of public-domain e-books. Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable.
Project Muse ebook and ejournal collections This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Contains citations for dissertations and theses done at U.S., Canadian and some foreign institutions including some OSU Master's nursing theses.
Torrossa ebooks This link opens in a new window
The Torrossa platform from Casalini Libri offers full-text access to hundreds of ebooks by publishers in romance language countries. Available collections include the Biblioteca Italiana Zanichelli, including Italian literature from the 13th-20th centuries, as well as the Editoria Italiana Online, including ebooks by authoratitive Italian publishers in the humanities and social sciences.

Library of Congress Classification for Art

The Library of Congress call number system designates that the letter 'N' represent the subject 'art', hence most of the books at the Fine Arts Library have call numbers beginning with N. But we have many other subjects in our stacks, such as AMs for museum studies, Cs for archeology, Gs for fashion, Ps for literature/film, TRs for photography, Zs for book studies, and more!

AM: Museum Studies

N: Visual Arts

NA Architecture

NB Sculpture

NC: Drawing, Design, Illustration

ND: Painting

NE Printmaking

NK: Decorative arts

NX: Arts in general, Mixed Media, Performance Art

PN: Art and Literature/Film

TR: Photography

Z: Books (General), Writing, Paleography, Book Industries and Trade, Libraries, Bibliography (This section also contains typography and history of the book).

Requesting Books

Art Books Online & Other Digital Content

Hover over the title of each link to see a description of contents. These are publications available online, including exhibition catalogues and monographs.

Searching for Books on Arts Admin, Education, & Policy

Searching for books on Arts Administration, Education, or Policy can be tricky, because when you perform a search with the word "art" in it, many things unrelated to your specific research question or interest may come up. Here are some search strategies for finding books in these subject areas using keywords:

arts AND management
arts AND non-profit
arts AND education
arts AND teaching
arts AND policy

If you're doing a SUBJECT search, you'll be searching subject headings assigned by the Library of Congress. Some related to Arts Admin, Education, & Policy include:

Arts -- Study and teaching -- United States
Arts -- Management
Arts -- Economic aspects

A quick way to do a subject search is to find a good book through a keyword search and then look at its record--there are subject headings linked there. If you click on one, it will quickly take you to a list showing how many items we own with the same subject heading.

FInding an Annual Report

You can locate annual reports for arts organizations by performing a search in the library's catalog by author. Simply use the name of the organization you're looking for as the author. If there are many titles, you can then limit your search to those items containing the words "annual" or "report" in the title. For assistance, please contact the Art & Design Librarian.