Research Guides: Arts Administration, Education, and Policy: Databases & Websites

Arts & Cultural Policy Resources

Americans for the Arts Research Reports This site has reports made by Americans for the Arts that compare arts policies among local governments and organizations.
The Compendium of Cultural Policies & Trends Online database with in-depth information on cultural policies, statistics and trends.
National Arts Administration & Policy Publications Database Database from Americans for the Arts of arts policy.
NEA Publicly Available Data Sources A list created by the National Endowment of the Arts of publicly available data sources.
Ohio Arts Organization Database
A search tool for looking up arts organizations in the state of Ohio.

Podcast: Museopunks

Put out by the American Alliance of Museums, Museopunks is "a podcast for the progressive museum." The description from the website notes: "Every month, Suse Anderson investigates the fascinating work and personalities in and around the museum sector. The Punks explore some of the sector’s most stimulating questions, institutions, and practices, with a focus on emergent, boundary-pushing work and ideas."

For Finding Articles on Arts Administration, Education, & Policy

Art & Architecture Archive
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. The magazines are scanned from cover-to-cover and presented as full-color page images; detailed indexing permits quick, efficient searching and navigation of this material.

Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Complete is the definitive research database for the study of art and architecture. This database provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from an international array of peer-selected publications, as well as coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian, and non-Western art. Includes full text of articles from more than 300 periodicals as far back as 1995 and indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals and over 18,000 art dissertations.
Art and Architecture in Video This link opens in a new window
Art and Architecture in Video delivers over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis. Ideal for both undergraduate and graduate courses, the works within this collection offer a dynamic tool to enhance understanding of visual media.
Art Index Retrospective: 1929 - 1984 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Art Index Retrospective: 1929 - 1984 (H.W. Wilson) offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Business Source Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
This is one of the best databases to search for scholarly literature on business research topics. The database contains indexing and abstracts for scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals back from 1886 to the present. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Education Full Text (Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes 400 periodicals, yearbooks, and monographs in audiovisual education, classroom computers, comparative education, competency-based education, educational technology, government funding, language and linguistics, literacy standards, multi-cultural/ethnic education, psychology, religious education, science and mathematics, social sciences, special education, student counseling, teacher education, teacher/parent relations, and vocational education.

JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Newspaper Source [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times (for a total of 194 full text newspapers and other sources).

Websites of Interest

American Alliance of Museums Since 1906 the Alliance has been a leader in developing best practices and advocating for museums, as well as providing a host of opportunities to museum staff and volunteers. More than 35,000 individual museum professionals and volunteers, institutions, and corporate partners benefit from the work of the Alliance.
Common Field Common Field is a national network of independent visual arts organizations and organizers that connects, supports, and advocates for the artist-centered field. Founded in 2013 and launched in 2015, the Common Field network has 700+ members across 43 states. Programs include national convenings, grants, research, resources, forums, meet-ups and advocacy. Our vision is to increase understanding, involvement and knowledge of artists organizations and their value, and increase their capacity through national connectivity, dialog understanding and support.
National Art Education Association Founded in 1947, the National Art Education Association is the leading professional membership organization exclusively for visual arts educators.
National Endowment for the Arts Established by Congress in 1965, the NEA is the independent federal agency whose funding and support gives Americans the opportunity to participate in the arts, exercise their imaginations, and develop their creative capacities. Through partnerships with state arts agencies, local leaders, other federal agencies, and the philanthropic sector, the NEA supports arts learning, affirms and celebrates America’s rich and diverse cultural heritage, and extends its work to promote equal access to the arts in every community across America. Visit arts.gov to learn more about NEA.

Databases for Education

Education Full Text (Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes 400 periodicals, yearbooks, and monographs in audiovisual education, classroom computers, comparative education, competency-based education, educational technology, government funding, language and linguistics, literacy standards, multi-cultural/ethnic education, psychology, religious education, science and mathematics, social sciences, special education, student counseling, teacher education, teacher/parent relations, and vocational education.
Education Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Covering a century of research, this database provides cover-to-cover indexing for an international range of English-language periodicals and yearbooks. It includes accurate, detailed, cover-to-cover indexing of some 500 periodicals, as far back as 1929. It cites nearly one million articles, including book reviews.
Education Research Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
ERIC (EBSCO version) This link opens in a new window
The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers. The EBSCOhost interface is similar to Academic Search Complete.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
The Films on Demand collections provide streaming video access to more than 8,000 videos and 90,000 segments for topics including Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics and Health & Medicine.
Institute of Education Sciences This link opens in a new window
The official website of the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), the research arm of the U.S. Department of Education. The site provides access to many publications and data resources from its four centers: the National Center for Education Research, the National Center for Education Statistics, the National Center for Education Evaluation and Regional Assistance, and the National Center for Special Education Research.