Ethnic Studies

By no means is this list extensive, but it does feature some of the key journals in the field of Ethnic Studies. The links below will take you to databases which hold various journals you may find helpful in your research. Remember to try multiple search terms and to review basic search strategies! More journals can be found on our Online Journals and eBooks List! Listed by each journal is a short descriptive excerpt taken from the corresponding Journal websites.

• Asian American Journal of Psychology - This publication is dedicated to research, practice, advocacy, education, and policy within Asian American psychology. The Journal publishes empirical, theoretical, methodological, and practice oriented articles and book reviews covering topics relevant to Asian American individuals and communities, including prevention, intervention, training, and social justice.
• Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology - Seeks to advance the psychological science of culture, ethnicity, and race through the publication of empirical research, as well as theoretical, conceptual, and integrative review articles that will stimulate further empirical research, on basic and applied psychological issues relevant to racial and ethnic groups that have been historically subordinated, underrepresented, or underserved.
• Comparative Migration Studies - an international, peer-reviewed open access journal that provides a platform for articles that focus on comparative research in migration, integration, and race and ethnic relations.
• Du Bois Review: Social Science Research on Race - This peer-reviewed journal is devoted to research and criticism on race in the social sciences. It provides a forum for discussion and increased understanding of race and society from a range of disciplines, including but not limited to economics, political science, sociology, anthropology, law, communications, public policy, psychology, and history. Each issue contains an editorial overview, invited lead essays, original research papers, and review essays covering current books, controversies, and research threads.
• Ethnic and Racial Studies - Original articles and critical comments on any aspect of race, ethnicity, nationalism and related topics, book reviews and lists of recently published books.
• Ethnicities -  Ethnicities is a cross-disciplinary journal that will provide a critical dialogue between these debates in sociology and politics, and related disciplines
• Ethnicity & Health - Original articles about the health and welfare of ethnic communities and also of refugees.
• Ethnopolitics -  is an authoritative peer-reviewed journal which provides a forum for serious debate and exchange on one of the phenomena that had a decisive impact during the last decades of the 20th century and continues to be of great importance in the new millennium.
• Identities -  Provides an interdisciplinary space for new theoretically informed empirical research and critical analysis which opens up questions of race, ethnicity and culture. It draws on and brings together insights from anthropology, cultural studies, sociology, social policy, cultural geography, political science and social psychology.
• Journal of American Ethnic History - Presents research on the immigrant & ethnic history of the North American people; migration, adjustment & assimilation, group relations, politics, culture & group identity; for members of the Immigration History Society.
• Journal of Black Studies - Peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, for the last half of a century has been the leading source for dynamic, innovative, and creative research on the Black experience.
• Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies (JEMS) - JEMS publishes the results of first-class research on all forms of migration and its consequences, together with articles on ethnic conflict, discrimination, racism, nationalism, citizenship and policies of integration. Contributions to the journal, which are all fully refereed, are especially welcome when they are the result of original empirical research that makes a clear contribution to the field of migration.
• Journal of Refugee Studies - Academic exploration of the complex problems of forced migration & national & international responses.
• Patterns of Prejudice - The journal provides a forum for exploring the historical roots and contemporary varieties of social exclusion and the demonization or stigmatization of racial, ethnic, national or religious Others across the world. 
• Race & Class - Race & Class is a fully peer-reviewed journal containing contributions from scientists, artists, novelists, journalists, politicians and Black and Third World activists and scholars.
• Race Ethnicity and Education - is the leading peer-reviewed journal on racism and race inequality in education. The journal provides a focal point for international scholarship, research and debate by publishing original and challenging research that explores the dynamics of race, racism and ethnicity in education policy, theory and practice.
• Sociology of Race and Ethnicity - The official journal of ASA’s Section on Racial and Ethnic Minorities, Sociology of Race and Ethnicity publishes the highest quality, cutting-edge sociological research on race and ethnicity regardless of epistemological, methodological, or theoretical orientation.
• Social Identities - An interdisciplinary and international forum for theorizing issues at the interface of social identities in the context of the transforming political economies and cultures of postmodern and postcolonial societies.

Boolean operators let you connect your alternative terms and concepts together.

Be sure to type your Boolean operators in ALL CAPS. That lets the database know you're giving it a command. Otherwise, it ignores common words like and, or and not.

AND Limits your search to articles that contain both of the search terms Narrows or focuses your search; you will typically get fewer results the more ANDs you use Use AND between different concepts For example: Native American AND Water
OR Expands your search to articles that contain either of the search terms Broadens your search; you will typically get more results the more ORs you use Use OR between different search terms for the same concept For example: Native American OR Water OR Politics
NOT Excludes a term from your search Narrows or focuses your search; you will typically get fewer results the more NOTs you use For example: pig NOT guinea BE CAREFUL!  It is very easy to exclude too much and accidentally miss important and relevant literature. Try to use combinations of AND and OR, then exclude results yourself, instead of using the Boolean NOT